Navigation Bar Grades K-2 Grades 3-5 Grades 6-8Grades 9-12 Parents and Teachers Home

The Constitution of the United States

After the American Revolution the states were functioning under the Articles of Confederation. As time passed it became clear that changes to this system had to be made. A convention of delegates from all the states except Rhode Island met in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in May of 1787. George Washington was chosen president of the convention. By the end of the month it was decided that the best solution to the young country's problems was to set aside the Articles of Confederation and write a new constitution. This was not an easy chore. Three months later and after a lot of debate and compromise, on September 17, 1787, the Constitution of the United States was finally accepted by the delegates. But their work was not done.

The Founding Fathers now had to get all the states to agree that this was a good document and that they should vote in favor of it. This was the first great political question that faced Americans. Nine states had to vote for the Constitution for it to be accepted. On December 3, 1787, Delaware was the first state to vote in favor of (ratify) it. New Hampshire became the ninth state to accept the Constitution on June 21, 1788, ending government under the Articles of Confederation. It was not until May 29, 1790 that the last state, Rhode Island, finally accepted the Constitution.

To learn more, choose from the following: Related links