Environment and Economy Subcommittee Hearing on Blue Ribbon Commission

Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy
Feb 1, 2012
2322 Rayburn House Office Building

The Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy held a hearing on Wednesday, February 1, 2012, at 9:30 a.m. in room 2322 of the Rayburn House Office Building. The title of the hearing is “Recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future.”


Preliminary Hearing Transcript

Ranking Member Waxman's Opening Statement, as prepared for delivery
"The Commission recommendations deserve our serious consideration. They raise a number of important policy questions, such as whether a new organization should be established to address the nuclear waste problem, how the Nuclear Waste Fund should be used, and whether one or more centralized storage facilities should be developed in addition to one or more geologic repositories. Answering these questions requires an open mind and a willingness to move past a narrow obsession with Yucca Mountain.  It’s time to move forward and today’s hearing is a good first step." - Ranking Member Waxman



Panel 1
Hon. Lee Hamilton
Co-Chair, Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future, Director
The Center on Congress at The Indiana University
Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives (D-IN)
Lt. Gen. Brent Brent Scowcroft (Ret.)
Co-Chair, Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future
President, Scowcroft Group
Former National Security Advisor to Presidents Gerald Ford and George H.W. Bush
Panel 2
Mr. Lake H. Barrett
President, L. Barrett Consulting, Former Deputy Director
Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management, U.S. Department of Energy
Dr. D. Warner North
President, NorthWorks, Inc., Former Member
U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board
Mr. Martin G. Malsch
Partner, Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch & Lawrence
Dr. Edwin Lyman
Senior Staff Scientist, Union for Concerned Scientists
Mr. Thomas A. Schatz
President, Citizens Against Government Waste
Mr. David A. Wright
Chairman of the Board and President, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
112th Congress