Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future Reactor and Fuel Cycle Technology Subcommittee Meeting August 30-31st - Washington Marriott, 1221 22nd Street NW, Washington, DC

Day 1 (Ballrooms D/E)

8:00 - 8:05 Introduction/Agenda Review - Tim Frazier, DOE Designated Federal Officer

8:05 - 8:15 - Comments by Subcommittee Chairs - Sen. Pete Domenici and Dr. Peterson

8:15-10:15 a.m. - Opportunities in Reactor and Fuel Cycle Technologies (Panel #1, 2 hr)

- AREVA (Dr. Alan Hanson, Executive Vice President Technologies and Used Fuel Management)
- GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy (Mr. Jack Fuller, Chairman of the Board)
- Westinghouse (Dr. Kate Jackson, Chief Technology Officer)
- Energy Solutions (Mr. Alan Dobson, Senior Vice President)
- Union of Concerned Scientists (Dr. Edwin Lyman, Senior Scientist)
- Radioactive Waste Management Associates (Dr. Marvin Resnikoff, Senior Associate)

10:15-10:30 a.m. - Break

10:30 - 12:30 p.m. - Opportunities in Reactor and Fuel Cycle Technologies (Panel #2, 2 hr)

- General Atomics (Dr. John Parmentola, Senior Vice President Energy and Electromagnetic Systems)
- NuScale (Dr. Paul Lorenzini, CEO)
- Babcock and Wilcox Nuclear Energy, Inc. (Mr. Christofer Mowry, President)
- Institute for Lifelong Education at Dartmouth (Study Group Leader, Dr. Robert Hargraves)
- Natural Resources Defense Council (Dr. Thomas Cochran, Senior Scientist)
- Stanford University (Dr. Geoffrey Rothwell, Associate Director Stanford Public Policy Program)

12:30-1:30 p.m. - Lunch break (Not provided)

1:30-3:30 p.m. - Enabling and Incentivizing Commercial First Movers (Panel #3, 2 hr)

- DOE Review of ALWR and DOE-2010 program successes (Ms. Rebecca Smith-Kevern, Director DOE Light Water Technologies)
- NuStart Energy (Mr. Mike Cazaubon, Project Manager)
- ANS Special Committee on Small Modular Reactors initial study findings (Dr. John Kelly)
- Venrock Capital (Mr. Ray Rothrock, Partner)
- Barclays Capital (James K. Asselstine, Managing Director)
- Heritage Foundation (Mr. Jack Spencer, Research Fellow)

3:30 p.m. - End of public session

Day 2 (Ballrooms D/E)

8:00 – 9:30 a.m. Technology Neutral Regulatory Framework for New Reactor and Fuel Cycle Technologies (Panel #1, 1.5 hr)

- NRC Office of Regulatory Research (Dr. Brian Sheron, Director)
- NRC Office of New Reactors (Mr. Mike Mayfield, Director Advanced Reactor Program)
- NRC Nuclear Materials Safety & Safeguards (Ms. Marissa Bailey, Deputy Director Fuel Cycle Safety and Safeguards Division)

9:30 - 9:45 a.m. - Break

9:45 – 11:45 a.m. – Capability Forecast: Engineering, Manufacturing, Construction, and Operation (Panel #2, 2 hr)

- AFL-CIO (Mr. Sean McGarvey, Secretary Treasurer AFL-CIO Building Trades Department)
- Nuclear Energy Institute (Ms. Carol Berrigan, Senior Director for Industry Infrastructure, Vice President of the Center for Energy Workforce Development)
- Edison Welding Institute/Nuclear Fabrication Consortium (Dr. Henry Cialone, President/CEO)
- U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (Mr. John Gutteridge, Manager of Nuclear Education Programs)
- Precision Custom Components, LLC (Mr. James Stouch, Vice President Business Development)

11:45 - 1:00 p.m. - Lunch break (Not provided)

1:00 – 3:00 p.m. – Topics related to Public Safety, Environmental, and Local Concerns (Panel #3, 2 hr)

- Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP (Ms. Diane Curran, Partner)
- Energy Communities Alliance (Ms. Kara Colton, Senior Program Director)
- Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (Dr. Clinton Wolfe, Executive Director)
- Nuclear Information and Resource Service (Ms. Mary Olson, Director Southeast Office)
- New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (Mr. Paul Bembia, West Valley Site Management Program Director)

3:00 - 3:15 p.m. - Break

3:15 - 4:15 p.m. - Public Comment Period