Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future Transportation & Storage Subcommittee August 19, 2010

Washington Marriott, 1221 22nd Street NW Washington, DC—Ballrooms D and E

Final Agenda

8:30 a.m.	Open Meeting, Review Agenda	Tim Frazier, Designated Federal Officer
8:35 a.m.	Welcome, Opening remarks	Co-Chairs Meserve, Sharp Subcommittee members
8:45 a.m.	Industry projections of commercial used fuel inventories	Dr. John Kessler, EPRI
9:00 a.m.	The evolution of the role of storage - a historical perspective	Dr. John Ahearne, Sigma Xi
9:30 a.m.	Overview of current handling and storage practices	Dr. Everett Redmond, NEI
9:50 a.m.	Overview of existing commitments and obligations governing used fuel storage	Mike McBride, Van Ness Feldman
10:10 a.m.	Break	
10:10 a.m. 10:30 a.m.	Panel discussion – the role of storage	Dr. John Ahearne, Sigma Xi
		Dr. John Ahearne, Sigma Xi John Parkyn, Private Fuel Storage, LLC
	Panel discussion – the role of storage in an integrated US waste	John Parkyn, Private
	Panel discussion – the role of storage in an integrated US waste	John Parkyn, Private Fuel Storage, LLC

12:00 noon	Lunch	
1:00 p.m.	Panel discussion – technical and regulatory uncertainties	Dr. John Kessler, EPRI
		Dr. David Lochbaum, Union of Concerned Scientists
		Mike Waters, NRC
		Ken Sorenson, Sandia Lab/DOE Used Fuel Disposition Campaign
2:15 p.m.	Break	
2:30 p.m.	Panel discussion – relationship between storage and progress on disposal and fuel cycle facilities	David Blee, US Nuclear Infrastructure Council
		Dr. Charles Forsberg, MIT
		Jim Williams, Western
		Interstate Energy Board David Wright, South Carolina Public Service Commission
		President Victoria Winfrey, Prairie Island Indian Community Tribal Council
4:00 p.m.	Public Comments	
4:45 p.m.	Adjourn public session	