The NASA Advisory Council provides the NASA Administrator with counsel and advice on programs and issues of importance to the Agency. The Council consists of nine committees, Aeronautics, Audit, Finance and Analysis, Commercial Space, Education and Public Outreach, Exploration, Information Technology Infrastructure, Science, Space Operations, and Technology and Innovation. Each committee conducts sessions throughout the year in an effort to gain a broad understanding of current NASA issues and future mission implementation plans. The committees then bring their proposed observations, findings, and recommendations to the full Council for deliberation and final decision on whether to send forward to the NASA Administrator.

    The Council deliberates on topics raised by each committee in public sessions and presents any observations, findings, and recommendations to the NASA Administrator on a quarterly basis.

NAC Photo

    August 2011 NAC Members
    August 4-5, 2011
    NASA Ames Research Center
    Moffett Field, CA

    The NASA Advisory Council held its quarterly meeting on August 4-5, 2011, at the NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA. Shown left to right (sitting): Dr. Byron Tapley (representing Dr. Wesley Huntress), Dr. Larry Smarr, Ms. Esther Dyson, Mr. Robert Hanisee, Dr. Kenneth Ford (Chair), Mr. Charles Bolden (NASA Administrator), Ms. Diane Rausch (Executive Director). Shown left to right (standing): Mr., Bretton Alexander, Mr. Richard Kohrs, Col. Eileen Collins (USAF, Ret.), Dr. Raymond Colladay, Ms. Marion Blakey, Mr. Lars Perkins, Dr. Charles Kennel.

Latest Meeting Information

  • Meeting Documents

    Meeting agenda and documents related to the most recent NAC meeting of August 4-5, 2011

News and Information