Taxonomy Helper

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)


    Kingdom: Animalia
    Division: Chordata
    Subdivision: Vertebrata
    Class: Mammalia

Mammals (class Mammalia)

What are Mammals?
Mammals of the southeastern U.S. include vertebrates of the taxonomic class Mammalia including animals such as American marsupials (order Didelphimorphia), Insectivores (order Soricomorpha), Bats (order Chiroptera), Edentates (order Cingulata), Lagomorphs (order Lagomorpha), Rodents (order Rodentia), Carnivores (order Carnivora), and Artiodactyls (order Artiodactyla). Thought of as warm-blooded, mammals are endotherms, meaning they are able to regulate their own body temperature independently of the temperature of their surroundings. Mammal characteristics include skin covered with hairs, females with mammary glands that secrete milk to feed young, and a reproduction strategy of internal fertilization and bearing relatively mature live offspring. Mammals in the Southeast region include numerous taxonomic families within the taxonomic orders below.

[Photo: Bob Gress, Illinois Department of Natural Resources]

American marsupials (Order Didelphimorphia)
The American opossum is the only marsupial found in North America.

Elk [Photo: Jim Leupold, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service]

Artiodactyls (order Artiodactyla)
This order includes hoofed mammals such as deer, elk, bison, and pigs.

Gray Bat [Photo:U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service]

Bats (order Chiroptera)
Bats are the only mammals capable of true flight.

Red wolf [Photo: Brian Kelley, U.S. Fish and Widlife Service]

Carnivores (order Carnivora)
Carnivores include predatory mammals such as wolves.

Nine-banded armadillo [Photo: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service]

Edentates (order Cingulata)
This order includes armadillos. Armadillos are steadily increasing their range northward from the Southern U.S.

Star-nosed mole [Photo: U.S. NPS, Acadia National Park]

Insectivores (order Soricomorpha)
This order includes moles and shrews, mammals that primarily consume small invertebrates such as insects.

Eastern cottontail [Photo: Joe Kosack, Pennsylvania Game Commission]

Lagomorphs (order Lagomorpha)
This order is represented by the taxonomic family Leporidae, which includes rabbits, hares, cottontail, and jackrabbits.

Allegheny woodrat [Photo: U.S. NPS]

Rodents (order Rodentia)
Rodents include mammals such as squirrels, mice, and beaver.

The NBII Program is administered by the Biological Informatics Program of the U.S. Geological Survey
About NBII | Accessibility Statement | NBII Disclaimer, Attribution & Privacy Statement | FOIA Logo       USGS Logo       USAgov Logo