States of the Southwest Region

The Southwest region includes Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah.

Click on the links below to access information about these states:

Arizona State Flag Arizona
The Grand Canyon State, nicknamed after its best-known geologic formation, has a diversity of landscapes.
Colorado State Flag Colorado
The headwaters of the mighty Colorado and Rio Grande Rivers begin in the Centennial State.
Nevada State Flag Nevada
The Silver State, or "Sagebrush State," is home to the Great Basin and the Mojave Desert.
New Mexico State Flag New Mexico
The Land of Enchantment is rich in geographic and cultural diversity.
Utah State Flag Utah
The Colorado Plateau and Great Basin are important ecosystems of the Beehive State.

Featured Project

[Image: Southwest Regional GAP Project]
[Image: Southwest Regional GAP Project]

The Southwest Regional Gap Analysis Project (SWReGAP) is an update of the Gap Analysis Program's mapping and assessment of biodiversity for the five-state region encompassing Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah. It is a multi-institutional cooperative effort coordinated by the U.S. Geological Survey's Gap Analysis Program. Data sets are made available to the public by the SWReGAP consortium of institutions responsible for their development, including the Southwest Node of the NBII.

The NBII Program is administered by the Biological Informatics Program of the U.S. Geological Survey
About NBII | Accessibility Statement | NBII Disclaimer, Attribution & Privacy Statement | FOIA Logo       USGS Logo       USAgov Logo