In the 2012 President's Budget Request, the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is terminated. As a result, all resources, databases, tools, and applications within this web site will be removed on January 15, 2012. For more information, please refer to the NBII Program Termination page.

USGS Frog Call Lookup

Do you hear frogs calling?

To find out what frogs you are hearing, look up frog calls using the USGS Frog Call Lookup from the USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center. There you can learn to identify frog calls and quiz yourself using the frog call quizzes for your area.

Amphibians of the Southwest Region

Arizona Treefrog (Hyla wrightorum) [Photo: Jeff Servoss, USFWS]
Arizona Treefrog (Hyla wrightorum)
[Photo: Jeff Servoss, USFWS]

Amphibians are a class of vertebrates with over 4,000 species. There are three orders of amphibians: salamanders and newts (Urodela) , frogs and toads (Anura) , and caecilians (Apoda) . Thought of as cold-blooded, amphibians are ectotherms, meaning they are unable to regulate their own body temperature independently of the temperature of their surroundings. Amphibians are generally small with thin skin permeable to air and water. With few exceptions, amphibians do not actively care for their young. In general, amphibian reproduction strategy consists of egg-laying and external fertilization of a large number of eggs in a moist or fully aquatic environment. Fertilized eggs develop into amphibian larvae that live part of their lives dependent on an aquatic environment requiring gills and specialized feeding habits. Following a pattern of development unique to amphibians, amphibian larvae undergo marked changes and metamorphose into an terrestrial form that lives on land. Typically, this metamorphosis is demonstrated by loss of gills, changes in overall appearance, and changes in diet. The Southwest is home to a variety of ecosystems which provide diverse terrestrial habitats and aquatic habitats, which amphibians depend on for reproduction.

Amphibian Species of Greatest Conservation Need
Thirty-nine amphibian species have been identified in state wildlife action plans as Species of Greatest Conservation Need (GCN) for the Southwest Region, which includes Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah. The Southwest Species of Greatest Conservation Need interactive application brings together resources on these 39 GCN amphibian species and other GCN taxa from multiple authoritative sources including the Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) and NatureServe.

Southwest Species of Greatest Conservation NeedSpecies of Greatest Conservation Need
Browse the interactive application to find out more about the 39 amphibian species of greatest conservation need in the Southwest Region.

NBII Amphibians Site

For more information about Amphibians nationwide, visit the NBII Amphibians Web site. There you can find further Web resources on amphibians and the diverse factors affecting amphibian populations globally.

Through the NBII's North American Reporting Center for Amphibian Malformations, citizen scientists can contribute their observations of local amphibian populations to help scientists better understand amphibian populations worldwide.

Taxonomy Helper

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)


    Kingdom: Animalia
    Division: Chordata
    Subdivision: Vertebrata
    Class: Amphibia
The NBII Program is administered by the Biological Informatics Program of the U.S. Geological Survey
About NBII | Accessibility Statement | NBII Disclaimer, Attribution & Privacy Statement | FOIA Logo       USGS Logo       USAgov Logo