Announcing the 2011-2012 National Finalists

WASHINGTON, June 9, 2011 – Today, the President's Commission on White House Fellowships announced that thirty National Finalists for the White House Fellows Program have been invited to Washington, DC for the 2011 Selection Weekend. The National Finalists represent a diverse cross-section of professions, including business, medicine, law, the non-profit sector, finance, education, and four branches of the military. Members of the President's Commission will meet and interview each Finalist, and from this group of outstanding women and men, 11-19 Fellows will be selected for the 2011-2012 term. Those chosen will become part of the 47th class to serve in the nation's most prestigious program for leadership and public service. A complete list of the National Finalists appears below.

Founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson, the White House Fellows Program is an opportunity for exceptional women and men to work at a high-level in the Federal government. Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors, travel domestically and abroad to study U.S. policy in action, and complete community service activities throughout the year. Following the program, Fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the country as national leaders and public servants. The White House Fellows program is non-partisan.

This year's National Finalists have already advanced through a highly competitive selection process. Selection as a Fellow is based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one's career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and demonstrated ability to contribute meaningfully at the highest levels of Federal government. After the Selection Weekend, the President's Commission will recommend individuals to the President for appointment as White House Fellows.

The President's Commission on White House Fellowships is chaired by John R. Phillips, a partner in the Washington, DC law firm of Phillips & Cohen, LLP. Dr. Cheryl Dorsey serves as the Vice Chair, and is the president of Echoing Green, a pioneer in the social entrepreneurship movement. Other members of the Commission are: Office of Personnel Management Director John Berry, Tom Brokaw, General Wesley Clark (ret.), former Senator Thomas Daschle, former Judge Nelson Diaz, Dr. Helene Gayle, Dr. Vartan Gregorian, Steve Gunderson, Rev. Dr. Cynthia Hale, Deborah Harmon, Christy Haubegger, Dr. Peter Blair Henry, John Hockenberry, George Muñoz, General Lloyd W. Newton (ret.) Pierre Omidyar, Dr. Roger Porter, former Senator Paul Sarbanes, Dr. Ruth J. Simmons, Dr. George Thibault, Dr. Bryan Traubert, Laurence Tribe, Eleanor Kaye Wilson, and Judy Wise.

Those selected as to be a Fellow will join an accomplished group of over 600 alumni including former Labor Secretary Elaine Chao, General Colin Powell, Senator Samuel Brownback, U.S. Representative Joe Barton, CNN Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, writer Doris Kearns Goodwin, former Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, former CNN Chairman and CEO Tom Johnson, U.S. Court of Appeals Judges M. Margaret McKeown and Deanell Reece Tacha, J.C. Penney CEO Mike Ullman, U.S. Attorney Wifredo Ferrer, Univision President Cesar Conde and Ambassador to El Salvador Mari Carmen Aponte.

Additional information about the Program is located at www.whitehouse.gov/fellows.

The 2011-2012 National Finalists are:

Lindsay Bright Barenz – Associate, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP; Centerville, UT

Sonika Bhatnagar – Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC; Pittsburgh, PA

Reginald Chambers – Investment Executive, 3i Group plc; Harlem, NY

Albert Cho – Strategy Executive, Cisco Systems; Tempe, AZ

Elizabeth Cote - Anesthesia Resident, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Bangor, ME

Kisha Davis – Physician, Chase Braxton Health Services; Gaithersburg, MD

Amanda Edwards– Associate, Vinson & Elkins LLP; Houston, TX

Jason El Koubi– Director of State Economic Competitiveness, Louisiana Department of Economic Development; Leesville, LA

Christina Foushee – Nurse Manager and Transition Planner, San Francisco General Hospital & Trauma Center; Flaherty, KY

Jared Genser – President, Freedom Now; Bethesda, MD

Jonathon Goldstein – Former Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico's Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department; Sante Fe, NM

Randel Gordon – Major, U.S. Air Force; Gardiner, NY

Leonardo Gorordo - Chairman and CEO, Raíces de Esperanza; Miami, FL

Ziad Haider – Former Foreign Policy Advisor to U.S. Senator Chris Dodd; Washington, DC

Theodore Johnson III – Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Naval War College; Raleigh, NC Shaun Kim – Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton; Chicago, IL

Debra Kurshan – Consultant, Louisiana Recovery School District; Brooklyn, NY Michelle Kwan – Public Diplomacy Envoy, U.S. State Department; Los Angeles, CA Jennifer Lee – Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, George Washington University; Fairfax, VA

Rodney Lewis – Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Air Force; Oklahoma City, OK Herbert Pell – JAG and Lieutenant, U.S. Coast Guard; Providence, RI

Chad Pillai – Major, U.S. Army; Albany, NY

Wizdom Powell – Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina; Norfolk, VA

Amir Rashid-Farokhi – Executive Director, GeorgiaForward; Atlanta, GA

William Reynolds III – Consultant, Deloitte Consulting; Rochester, NY

Darshak Sanghavi – Chief of Pediatric Cardiology, University of Massachusetts Medical School; Brookline, MA

Guy Snodgrass – Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Navy; Colleyville, TX

J'Tia Taylor – Nonproliferation Technical Specialist, Argonne National Laboratory; Miami, FL

Jaron Wharton – Major, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy; Birmingham, AL

Anthony Woods - Director, ServiceNation; Fairfield, CA