Meaningful Use

Meaningful Use Stage 2

The 2014 Edition S&CC final rule completes the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology’s (ONC) second full rulemaking cycle to adopt standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for EHR technology. This final rule complements the newly released Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) final rule which establishes Stage 2 of the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs, updates Stage 1, and includes other program modifications.

The 2014 Edition S&CC final rule reflects ONC’s commitment to reduce regulatory burden; promote patient safety and patient engagement; enhance EHR technology’s interoperability, electronic health information exchange capacity, public health reporting, and security; enable clinical quality measure data capture, calculation, and electronic submission to CMS or states; and introduce greater transparency and efficiency to the certification process.

ONC Final Rule

ONC Resources

Other Resources

CMS Final Rule

CMS Resources

Meaningful Use Attestation

The Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT along with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services have compiled a list of Electronic Health Record products used for the attestation of Meaningful Use under the CMS Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. The file containing this data is in a csv format and is updated monthly. In addition, a data dictionary is provided that describes the variables available in the dataset. Finally, a factsheet is offered to explain how the data is generated and how to best use it.