Food and Drug Administration Center for Tobacco Products

Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee

January 18-20, 2012 - Open Session

Meeting Roster

TPSAC Members (voting, Special Government Employee)

Jonathan M. Samet, M.D., M.S. (Chair)
Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair
Department of Preventive Medicine
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California, Los Angeles
Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
1441 Eastlake Avenue, Room 4436, MS 44
Los Angeles, California 90089

Neal L. Benowitz, M.D.

Professor Chief, Division of Clinical Pharmacology Departments of Medicine and Biopharmaceutical Sciences Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy University of California, San Francisco, Box 1220 San Francisco, California 94143–1220

Mark Stuart Clanton, M.D., M.P.H. (participating by

telecom)
Chief Medical Officer
American Cancer Society, High Plains Division
2433-A Ridgepoint Drive
Austin, Texas 78754

Dorothy K. Hatsukami, Ph.D..

Forster Family Professor in Cancer Prevention and Professor of Psychiatry Tobacco Use Research Center University of Minnesota 717 Delaware Street, SE Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414

Patricia Nez Henderson, M.P.H., M.D.

(Representative of the general public)
Vice President
Black Hills Center for American Indian Health
701 St. Joseph Street, Suite 204
Rapid City, South Dakota 57701

Thomas Eissenberg, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychology Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies, and Director, Clinical Behavioral Pharmacology Laboratories Virginia Commonwealth University Box 980205 Richmond, Virginia 23298

TPSAC Members (non-voting Industry Representatives)

Luby Arnold Hamm, Jr.

(Representative of the interests of tobacco growers - participating by telecom))
4901 Shallowbrook Trail
Raleigh, North Carolina 27616-6107

Jonathan Daniel Heck, Ph.D., DABT

(Representative of the tobacco manufacturing industry)
Lorillard Tobacco Company
A.W. Spears Research Center
420 N. English St., P.O. Box 21688
Greensboro, North Carolina 27420-1688

John H. Lauterbach, Ph.D., DABT

(Representative for the interest of small business tobacco manufacturing industry)
Lauterbach & Associates, LLC
211 Old Club Court
Macon, Georgia 31210-4708

Temporary Members (voting)

Robert L. Balster, Ph.D.

Director, Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies

Virginia Commonwealth University

P.O. Box 980310

Richmond, Virginia 23298

Ex Officio Members (non-voting)

Mirjana Djordjevic, Ph.D.

Program Director

Tobacco Control Research Branch

Behavioral Research Program

National Cancer Institute

National Institutes of Health

9000 Rockville Pike

Bethesda, Maryland 20892

Susan V. Karol, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer

Indian Health Service

The Reyes Building

801 Thompson Avenue, Ste. 400

Rockville, Maryland 20857

Consultants (nonvoting)

Sherry Emery, M.B.A., Ph.D.

Senior Scientist

Institute for Health Research and Policy

University of Illinois at Chicago

1747 W. Roosevelt Road, Suite 558

Chicago, Illinois 60608

Bruce Simons-Morton, Ed.D., M.P.H.

Branch Chief and Senior Investigator

Division of Epidemiology Statistics and

Prevention Research

National Institutes of Health

Bethesda, Maryland 20892

FDA Participants at the table (non-voting)

Lawrence R. Deyton, M.S.P.H., M.D.

Director

Center for Tobacco Products

Food and Drug Administration

9200 Corporate Boulevard

Rockville, Maryland 20850-3229

David L. Ashley, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Science

Fred Pampel, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology and Research Associate

Institute of Behavioral Science, Population Program

484 UCB

University of Colorado

Boulder, Colorado 80304

Timothy McAfee, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Associate Director for Policy

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

4770Buford Highway NE

Mailstop K-50

Atlanta, Georgia 30341

Pirard Sandrine, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.

Medical Officer

Division of Pharmacologic Therapies

Center for Substance Abuse Treatment

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration

1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 2-1079

Rockville, Maryland 20857

Ellen M. Peters, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

The Ohio State University, Psychology Department

235 Psychology Building

1835 Neil Avenue

Columbus, Ohio 43210

CTP/FDA

Sarah E. Evans, Ph.D.

Social Scientist

CTP/FDA