RESOLUTIONS OF JOINT STATEHOOD CONVENTION.

Mr. Dick presented the following

RESOLUTIONS OF THE JOINT STATEHOOD CONVENTION ASSEM-BLED AT OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLA., JULY 12, 1905.

March 7, 1906.—Ordered to be printed.

RESOLUTIONS OF THE JOINT STATEHOOD CONVENTION ASSEMBLED AT OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLA., JULY 12, 1905.

We, the 1,000 delegates representing 1,500,000 American citizens who reside in Oklahoma and Indian Territories, do hereby declare in convention assembled that said Territories are entitled to, and of right ought to, be immediately admitted into the American Union as one free and independent State, on terms of equality as between themselves, and on an equal footing with the other States.

We have but one petition and one request to present to the American Congress, and that is that immediate joint statehood be granted to Oklahoma and Indian Territories, on their own merits and without reference to any right or claim of other Territories seeking admission to the American Union.

In support of the foregoing declaration we offer the following reasons:

First.—Our area is sufficient. The average area of all States west of the Allegheny Mountains is 74,000 square miles; of those States west of the Mississippi is 96,000 square miles. We have 70,400 square miles.

Second.—Our population is sufficient. The population of each Territory is 750,000; our combined population is 1,500,000—four times as many as any State has had at the time of its admission, and equal to the average population of all the States now in the Union, and we are therefore entitled to seven members of the lower House of Congress.

Third.—Our resources are sufficient. We have property subject to taxation worth \$1,000,000,000. We have 500,000 acres of coal lands, and we produce bituminous coal of a quality not surpassed by any State in the Union. We have natural-gas fields containing single wells which produce 26,000,000 cubic feet per day. We have very extensive oilbearing fields now containing hundreds of producing wells and equal to the celebrated fields of Pennsylvania and Kansas. We have mountains of granite and extensive beds of excellent stone, asphalt, and

marble. We have developed mines of lead and zinc. We have areas of untouched forests, and millions of acres of fertile plains which rival the valley of the Red River of the North in its production of wheat, the delta of the Mississippi in its production of cotton, the prairies of Iowa in their production of corn, and the Pacific slope in the quality of its fruit. And we have 5,000 miles of railroad to convey our products to market and these traverse every county in both Territories.

Fourth.—The character of our population entitles us to immediate admission. Our fathers live in every State of the Union; we were born and bred in the atmosphere of American liberty and dignity. In 1900 the percentage of illiteracy in Oklahoma was 5.5, and in the Indian Territory 16, the general average 10\frac{3}{4}. Since then the population has nearly doubled, and it is safe to assume that all the newcomers are literate, because those who have the pluck and energy to move have intelligence enough to read. It is now, therefore, safe to say that in the two Territories the average of illiteracy is not over 7 per cent. Of our total population only 102,000 are of Indian extraction, and of these only 27,000 are full-blood Indians, and of these less than half are blanket Indians, and they all are citizens of the United States.

Respectfully,

Beaver County, J. H. Langston; Blaine County, A. J. Krouse; Custer County, Sam Darrah; Caddo County, Carl Gleitsch; Canadian County, C. P. Lincoln; Cleveland County, S. P. Render; Comanche County, George D. Key; Garfield County, Everett Purcell; Grant County, H. I. Wasson; Greer County, C. M. Thacker; Kay County, Rev. W. E. Woodward; Kingfisher County, Dr. F. L. Winkler; Kiowa County, C. A. Morris; Lincoln County, A. J. Ritterhouse; Logan County, A. G. C. Bierer; Noble County, Judge B. T. Hainer; Oklahoma County, C. B. Ames; Osage Reservation, John Leahy; Payne County, J. P. Hickman; Pawnee County, James H. Hale; Pottawatomie County, Milton Bryan; Roger Mills County, W. D. Cardwell; Washita County, R. A. Billups; Woods County, George Kneeland; Woodward County, John J. Gerlach; first district, William Mayes; second district, Seymour Riddle; third district, E. B. Lawson; fourth district, H. Jennings; fifth district, W. R. Samuel; sixth district, K. S. Murchison; seventh district, N. G. Philpen; eighth district, C. Davis; ninth district, Orland Swain; tenth district, C. Davis; ninth district, Orland Swain; tenth district, C. B. Douglas; eleventh district, R. E. Jackson; twelfth district, F. W. Ahrens; thirteenth district, J. A. Baker; fourteenth district, T. T. Verner; fifteenth district, C. B. Stewart; sixteenth district, Henry M. Furman; seventeenth district, J. B. Thompson; eighteenth district, W. H. Walker; nineteenth district, Judge M. M. Beaver; twentieth district, W. I. Gilbert; twenty-first district, W. A. Ledbetter; twenty-second district, Nick Wolf; twenty-tl. J district, A. G. Mosley; twenty-fourth district, W. P. Stewart; twenty-fifth district, Chas. E. McPherson; twenty-sixth district. J. C. Graham.

Whereas, the people of Indian Territory and Oklahoma Territory greatly appreciate the encouragement given them by President Roosevelt during his recent visit to these Territories, in his public utterances, in which he expressed the hope that a great State would be

made of the two Territories; and

Whereas, the people of Indian Territory and Oklahoma feel most grateful to Senator Beveridge and his Republican colleagues in the United States Senate, and to Senator Bailey and his Democratic colleagues in the United States Senate, for their loyalty to the cause of joint statehood; and

Whereas the people of Indian Territory and Oklakoma fully appreciate the efforts of Congressman Hamilton, Delegate B. S. McGuire, and their colleagues in the House of Representatives on behalf of statehood legislation for the people of the two Territories: Therefore,

be it

Resolved, That we, the members of the joint statehood executive committee in session assembled, herewith extend to the gentlemen named our heartfelt thanks for their efforts to confer the blessings of citizenship on a million and a half of people; and

Resolved, That we earnestly request of them that support for the the cause of joint statehood in the future which they have rendered in

the past; and

Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be sent by the joint statehood executive committee to the President of the United States and to the Senators and Congressmen herein named, and that these resolutions be made a part of the resolutions passed by the joint statehood convention held at Oklahoma City July 12, 1905.

THOS. DOYLE, LAKE MOORE, C. B. DOUGLAS, Subcommittee.