Minutes

A meeting of the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board was held in Washington, D.C, on Friday, May 15, 2009 at 1:00 p.m. and continued until 3:00 p.m.

PRESENT

Board Members:

Earl E. Devaney, Chairman, Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board Phyllis Fong, Inspector General U.S. Department of Agriculture Calvin L. Scovel, II, Inspector General U.S. Department of Transportation Daniel Levinson, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Todd J. Zinser, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Commerce Mary Mitchelson, Acting Inspector General, U.S. Department of Education J. Russell George, Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration Richard Skinner, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Homeland Security Glenn A. Fine, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Justice Eric M. Thorson, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Treasury Mary Kendall, Inspector General, U.S. Department of the Interior Gordon S. Heddell, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Defense

Board Staff:

Glen Walker, Executive Director Eric M. Lippold, Secretary Jennifer Dure, General Counsel

The Chairman introduced the two new Board members, Ms. Mary Kendall and Mr. Gordon S. Heddell, designated by the President pursuant to Title XV, Subtitle B, section 1522(b)(2) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5.

Members discussed the proper use of a consent agenda and that items may be on a consent agenda only if all board members agree; if even one member considers a specific item to need discussion, it must be removed and placed on the regular agenda for the board meeting.

By unanimous vote, the Board approved the consent agenda consisting of the following:

- May 1, 2009 Minutes
- Mission Statement
- Bylaws
- Governing Guidelines

Members discussed the Government in the Sunshine Act (5 U.S.C. section 552b), and the Board's authority to hold public hearings pursuant to Title XV, Subtitle B, section 1524(d) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5.

Members discussed the Accountability Committee charter and the Recovery.gov Committee charter, and proposed amending the language for quorum and approval to be consistent with the bylaws and removing language referencing a code of conduct.

By unanimous vote, the Board approved both charters as amended.

Mr. Walker briefed the Board on the May 8, 2009 Accountability Committee meeting. Members discussed the following:

- Hotline and Referral Solutions –DHS solution proposed and accepted with DoD backup. Doug Hassebrock to work with DHS and DoD setup.
- Initiatives from the Audit, Inspections and Evaluations Team
- Due Diligence, Data Mining, and Predictive Analytics
- Procurement Oversight and Training Processes Cathy Votaw to present process at future Board meeting.

The members discussed the need to establish a Committee to provide oversight of the Recovery Funds Working Group.

By unanimous vote, the Board established the Recovery Funds Working Group.

The Chairman nominated Mr. Daniel Levinson, Mr. J. Russell George, Mr. Todd J. Zinser, and Mr. Gordon Heddell to the Recovery.gov Committee.

The Chairman nominated Mr. Glenn A. Fine, Mr. Richard L. Skinner, Mr. Gregory H. Friedman, and Ms. Mary Mitchelson to the Accountability Committee.

The Chairman nominated Mr. Calvin L. Scovel, II, Ms. Phyllis K. Fong, Ms. Mary Kendall, Mr. Eric M. Thorson to the Recovery Funds Working Group Committee.

By unanimous vote, the Board confirmed the members of the standing committees.

The members requested that Ms. Dure draft the charter for the Recovery Funds Working Group Committee prior to the next meeting.

The Chairman informed members that staff meetings with Agency Senior Procurement Officials are on-going, and staff efforts are coordinated with Agency Offices of Inspectors General.

Members discussed the draft Contract Checklist prepared in collaboration with the Office of Federal Procurement Policy, Office of Management and Budget, and agreed to provide Mr. Walker with any comments by the close of business on Friday, May 22, 2009.

The Chairman informed members that staff would brief the Recovery.gov Committee on the National Academy of Public Administration report on the results of the week-long national webbased "town hall" held the week of April 27, 2009, and the Mitre review. Members requested that a copy of the Mitre review be distributed to all members upon completion. Members then discussed how the Recovery.gov Committee would make recommendations and provide advice to the Board on the proposals and solutions for Recovery.gov.

Mr. Walker provided members with the revised organization chart, and members discussed making the organizational chart, minutes, and governing documents available on-line.

Members discussed the preliminary funding categories, and the status of the Advisory Panel described in Title XV, Subtitle C of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5.

Members discussed outreach efforts and the various levels of interaction between members and staff, state and local auditors, and the Government Accountability Office.

Members continued the discussion on the Board's authority to hold public hearings. Mr. George, Mr. Friedman, Mr. Fine, and Mr. Thorson agreed to work with staff and lead the discussion on holding public hearings at a future meeting.

By unanimous vote, the Board agreed to hold the next meeting in the Board's conference room on May 29th, 2009.

Eric M. Lippold Secretary