

Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board 1717 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 700 Washington DC 20006-4614

January 22, 2010 Minutes

A meeting of the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board was held in Washington, D.C. on Friday, January 22, 2010, at 1:30 p.m. and continued until 2:45 p.m.

ATTENDEES

Board Members:

Earl E. Devaney, Chairman, Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board Phyllis Fong, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Agriculture Todd Zinser, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Commerce Gregory H. Friedman, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Energy J. Russell George, Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration Daniel Levinson, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Glenn A. Fine, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Justice Calvin L. Scovel III, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Transportation Eric M. Thorson, Inspector General, U.S. Department of the Treasury Mary Mitchelson, Acting Inspector General, U.S. Department of Education

Proxy Attendee (Non-Voting): Lynne Halbrooks, Principal Deputy Inspector General, U.S. Department of Defense

Board Staff:

Glen Walker, Executive Director
Jennifer Dure, General Counsel
Ed Pound, Director, Communications
Michael Wood, Director, Recovery.gov
John Higgins, Director, Accountability
Douglas Hassebrock, Assistant Director, Investigations
Don Salo, Assistant Director, Special Programs
Tara Porter, Board Secretary

DISCUSSION

Mr. Devaney called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. By unanimous vote of Board members present the January 8, 2010 minutes were approved.

Mr. Wood reported on behalf of the Recovery.gov Committee that FederalReporting.gov was working as designed. Mr. Wood also reported that the reporting period for recipients was extended until January 22, 2010, but the data submitted by recipients would still be made available to the public on January 30, 2010, as required by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (Recovery Act). Board members discussed reporting parameters, including the newly established continuous reporting period, agencies' data quality efforts, and recipients who fail to report. Mr. Devaney provided the statistics associated with the number of jobs

reported to date and informed the Board members that Recovery.gov will be updated to reflect the change in how job estimates are to be calculated by recipients.

Mr. Scovel, Recovery Funds Working Group Committee Chair, reported that the Committee discussed changes that will be made to the *Contract and Grant Staffing Qualifications Report* based on comments received on the draft report. Ms. Porter outlined the changes made to the draft report and noted that the Committee concurred with the changes. Mr. Zinser, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Commerce, led a discussion on whether to include recommendations in the report. A majority of the Board members present voted to include two recommendations and reference one best practice in the report.

Mr. Hassebrock reported on behalf of the Accountability Committee that additional analysts have been added to the Recovery Operations Center. Mr. Hassebrock also reviewed agency-specific geospatial heat maps that can be used by Offices of Inspector General as a resource management tool. Finally, Mr. Hassebrock discussed the leads that have been referred to various Inspectors General. The Accountability Committee will review the proposed process for providing status updates on these leads.

Mr. Devaney notified the Board that several enhancements will be made to the Recovery.gov website as of January 30, 2010. These enhancements include an improved homepage, a single page identifying maps available on Recovery.gov, and the ability for users to search for Recovery Act-related jobs. A new Chairman's corner and a Board press release will highlight these changes.

By unanimous vote the Board members present agreed to change the frequency of Board meetings to one time per month. Ad hoc meetings will be convened as needed. The Board meetings will be held on the first Friday of each month beginning in February 2010.

Tara A. Porter Secretary