THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS FUND



United States Department of the Treasury

NMTC Non-Metropolitan Counties: List of Qualifying Low-Income Communities

Section 102(b) of the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006 requires the CDFI Fund to ensure that non-metropolitan counties receive a proportional allocation of Qualified Equity Investments (QEIs) under the New Markets Tax Credit (NMTC) Program.

The CDFI Fund has defined Non-Metropolitan Counties as those counties that are not contained within a Metropolitan Statistical Area; as such term is defined in OMB Bulletin No. 99-04, with respect to the 2000 Census data.

A list identifying 6,488 NMTC-eligible census tracts located in Non-Metropolitan Counties can be accessed by clicking on the following link: NMTC non-metropolitan counties.

These census tracts qualify for NMTC investments because they have a poverty rate of at least 20 percent and/or a median family income that is at or below 80 percent of the applicable area median family.