skip navigation
Connecting America through Coins

Print Friendly

The Presidential $1 Coin

Current Design

Although dollar coins have been minted intermittently since 1794, currently there are two dollar coin series in production:  The Presidential $1 Coin Series (begun in 2007) and the Native American $1 Coin featuring Sacagawea on the obverse (first issued in 2009).

Both coins are golden in color, created by a mixture of metals (none of them gold). These dollar coins have the same "electromagnetic signature" as their predecessor, the Susan B. Anthony (SBA) dollar, which was silver in color. Keeping this signature allows older vending machines to accept the new coins without being retrofitted.

Click Here for More

Information on this coin.

Products that include this coin:

The Department of the Treasury Seal