Skip All Navigation

National Status of MLTSS

Forty six states include older persons and persons with disabilities in their Medicaid managed care programs, but most have excluded LTSS from those programs. [see CMS National Enrollment Summary]

This is changing, and as of April, 2012, 16 states (AZ, CA, DE, FL, HI, MA, MI, MN, NC, NM, NY, PA, TN, TX, WA, and WI) have implemented one or more state-designed MLTSS programs. Eight of these offer their programs statewide or in multiple regions of the state (AZ, DE, HI, MN, NM, TN, TX, and WI).  All of the 16 states with MLTSS programs had enrolled other population groups into Medicaid managed care for primary and acute services before they began their MLTSS efforts.   

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Text-only version of above activity

The Program for All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE), a very specific MLTSS model, has been implemented in more than half the states [see CMS PACE site and NPA site].


< Back      Next >