OFFICE OF MINORITY HEALTH

Office of Public Health and Science/Office of the Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

National Health Disparities Visionary Panel
Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center

National Harbor, MD

November 6 – 7, 2008

Participant List

Patricia M. Adams, MPH, BAN, RN

Assistant Commissioner
Minnesota Health Department
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
patricia.adams@state.mn.us

Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD

Director
Center for Reducing Health Disparities
2921 Stockton Boulevard, Suite 1400
Sacramento, CA 95817
sergio.aguilar-gaxiola@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Carolyn Barley Britton, MD, MS

Past President
National Medical Association
710 West 168th Street
New York, NY 10032
cbb5@columbia.edu

Teresita Batayola

Executive Director International Community Health Services 720 8th Avenue South, Suite 100 Seattle, WA 98104 teresitab@ichs.com

Mirtha Beadle, MPA

Deputy Director Office of Minority Health 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600 Rockville, MD 20852 mirtha.beadle@hhs.gov

Cheryl Boyce, MS

Executive Director
Ohio Commission on Minority Health
77 South High Street, 7th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
cheryl.boyce@ocmh.state.oh.us

Jeffrey Caballero, MPH

Executive Director
Association of Asian Pacific Community Health
Organizations
300 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Suite 620
Oakland, CA 94612
jeffc@aapcho.org

Sandra Crewe, MSW, PhD

Assistant Dean and Associate Professor Howard University School of Social Work 601 Howard Place, NW, Room 216 Washington, DC 20059 secrewe@howard.edu

▶ APPENDIX C

Bonnie Duran, DrPH

Associate Professor
Indigenous Wellness Research Institute
Department of Health Services
University of Washington School of Public Health
and Community Medicine
1959 NE Pacific Street
Room H680, Box 357660
Seattle, WA 98195-7660
bonduran@u.washington.edu

Howard Gordon, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for
Health Research and Policy
1747 W. Roosevelt Road,
Mail Room 558, MC 275
Chicago, IL 60608
hsg@uic.edu

Melissa Hansen, MS

Senior Health Policy Analyst
National Conference of State Legislatures
7700 E. First Place
Denver, CO 80230
melissa.hansen@ncsl.org

Gerald Hill, MD

President
Association of American Indian Physicians
1225 Sovereign Row, Suite 103
Oklahoma City, OK 73108
mknight@aaip.org

Rose Marie Martinez, ScD

Director

Population Health and Public Health Practice Institue of Medicine The National Academies 500 Fifth Street, NW Washington, DC 20001 rmartinez@nas.edu

Stephanie McGencey, PhD

Executive Director
Grant Makers for Children, Youth and Families
8757 Georgia Avenue, Suite 540
Silver Spring, MD 20910
smcgencey@gcyf.org

Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, RN

Delegate
State of Maryland
House Office Building
Six Bladen Street, Room 309
Annapolis, MD 21401
shirley.nathan.pulliam@house.state.md.us

Martha Okafor, PhD, MA, CSM, MPA

Deputy Director
Division of Public Health
Georgia State Department of Human Resources
Two Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 15-460
Atlanta, GA 30303
marthaokafor@sbcglobal.net

Elena Rios, MD, MSPH

President and CEO National Hispanic Medical Association 1411 K Street, NW, Suite 1100 Washington, DC 20005

Penelope Royal, PT, MSW

Director
Office of Disease Prevention and Health
Promotion
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL 100
Rockville, MD 20852
penelope.royall@hhs.gov

Joy Smith, MPH

Executive Director National Association of State Offices of Minority Health

David Takeuchi, PhD

Associate Dean for Research School of Social Work University of Washington 4101 15th Avenue, NE Seattle, WA 98105-6299 dt5@u.washington.edu

Sora Park Tanjasiri, DrPH, MPH

Associate Professor
Department of Health Science
California State University, Fullerton
800 N. State College Boulevard
P.O. Box 6870m, KHS 129
Fullerton, CA 92834-6780
stanjasiri@fullerton.edu

htran@apiahf.org

Ho Tran, MD, MPH
President and CEO
Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum
450 Sutter Street, Suite 600
San Francisco, CA 94108

Kathie Westpheling, MPH

Executive Director
Association of Clinicians for the Underserved
1420 Spring Hill Road, Suite 600
McLean, VA 22102
westpheling@gmail.com

Victor Tofaeono, MD, FACS

Assistant Medical Director
Lyndon Baines Johnson Tropical Medical Center
P.O. Box 997343
Pago Pago, AS 96799
terenuku@yahoo.com