ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services acknowledge the work of the 2010 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee whose recommendations formed the basis for this edition of the *Dietary Guidelines for Americans*.

Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee Members

Linda Van Horn, PhD, RD, LD; Naomi K. Fukagawa, MD, PhD; Cheryl Achterberg, PhD; Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH; Roger A. Clemens, DrPH; Miriam E. Nelson, PhD; Sharon (Shelly) M. Nickols-Richardson, PhD, RD; Thomas A. Pearson, MD, PhD, MPH; Rafael Pérez-Escamilla, PhD; F. Xavier Pi-Sunyer, MD, MPH; Eric B. Rimm, ScD; Joanne L. Slavin, PhD, RD; Christine L. Williams, MD, MPH.

The Departments also acknowledge the work of the departmental scientists, staff, and policy officials responsible for the production of this document.

Policy Officials

USDA: Kevin W. Concannon; Rajen S. Anand, DVM, PhD; Robert C. Post, PhD, MEd, MSc. HHS: Howard K. Koh, MD, MPH; Penelope Slade-Sawyer, PT, MSW, RADM, USPHS.

Policy Document Writing Staff

Carole A. Davis, MS; Kathryn Y. McMurry, MS; Patricia Britten, PhD, MS; Eve V. Essery, PhD; Kellie M. O'Connell, PhD, RD; Paula R. Trumbo, PhD; Rachel R. Hayes, MPH, RD; Colette I. Rihane, MS, RD; Julie E. Obbagy, PhD, RD; Patricia M. Guenther, PhD, RD; Jan Barrett Adams, MS, MBA, RD; Shelley Maniscalco, MPH, RD; Donna Johnson-Bailey, MPH, RD; Anne Brown Rodgers, Scientific Writer/Editor.

Policy Document Reviewers/Technical Assistance

Jackie Haven, MS, RD; Joanne Spahn, MS, RD; Shanthy Bowman, PhD; Holly H. McPeak, MS; Shirley Blakely, PhD, RD; Kristin L. Koegel, MBA, RD; Kevin Kuczynski, MS, RD; Kristina Davis, MS, MPH; Jane Fleming; David Herring, MS; Linda Cleveland, MS, RD.

The Departments would like to acknowledge the important role of those who provided input and public comments throughout this process. Finally, the Departments acknowledge the contributions of numerous other internal departmental and external scientists and staff who contributed to the production of this document, including the members of the Independent Scientific Review Panel, who peer reviewed the recommendations of the document to ensure they were based on the preponderance of the scientific evidence.

