Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality

National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality

The National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality provides advice and recommendations to the Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and to the Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), on priorities for a national health services research agenda.

Overview | Meetings | Reports | Members | NAC Coordinators


The 21-member panel is comprised of private-sector experts who contribute a varied perspective on the health care system and the most important questions that AHRQ's research should address in order to promote improvements in the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of clinical practice. The private-sector members represent health care plans, providers, purchasers, consumers, and researchers.

Also serving in an ex-officio capacity are principal representatives of seven Federal agencies that address health care system issues: The National Institutes of Health (NIH); the Department of Defense (Health Affairs) (DoD); the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA); the Office of Personnel Management (OPM); the Food and Drug Administration (FDA); the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS, formerly the Health Care Financing Administration [HCFA]); and the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Private-sector members are appointed by the Secretary, HHS, to serve 3-year terms. A list of current members follows. Biographies are available as a group or individually by selecting the member's name.

Top of Page


Council meetings are open to the public. Meetings are usually held at the AHRQ Conference Center, First Floor, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD, 20850. Select for Map and Directions. Please check the Federal Register Notice of Public Meeting to confirm meeting times and location. The next meeting will be held on November 9, 2012 at the AHRQ Conference Center.

Summaries of recent meetings, including slide presentations and video:

July 13, 2012
April 13, 2012
November 4, 2011
July 22, 2011
April 8, 2011

Meeting minutes:

April 13, 2012
November 4, 2011
July 22, 2011
April 8, 2011
November 5, 2010
July 23, 2010
April 9, 2010
November 13, 2009

Future National Advisory Council meetings are scheduled for:

April 12, 2013
July 26, 2013
November 15, 2013
April 4, 2014
July 25, 2014
November 7, 2014
March 27, 2015
July 24, 2015
November 6, 2015

Testimony on comparative effectiveness research was taken at the April 3, 2009, meeting.

Top of Page


National Advisory Council Subcommittee: Identifying Health Care Quality Measures for Medicaid-Eligible Adults—Background Report
National Advisory Council Subcommittee: Identifying Quality Measures for Medicaid-Eligible Adults—Background Report

Top of Page


Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH (Chair) (2014)
Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems
Suite 950, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (202) 585-0100
Fax: (202) 585-0561

Mitra Behroozi, JD (2013)
Executive Director
1199SEIU Benefit and Pension Funds
330 West 42nd Street—31st Floor
New York, NY 10036
Phone: (646) 473-6060

Paul N. Casale, MD, FACC (2013)
Medical Director of Quality
Chief, Division of Cardiology
Lancaster General Hospital
555 N. Duke Street
Lancaster, PA 17603
Phone: (717) 544-4890

Jane Durney Crowley, MHA (2014)
Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer
Catholic Health Partners
615 Elsinore Place
Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone: (513) 639-2810

Helen Darling, M.A. (2012)
National Business Group on Health
20 F Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 558-3005
Fax: (202) 628-9244

Louise-Marie Dembry, M.D., M.S., M.B.A. (2012)
Associate Professor
Co-Director, Department of Quality Improvement Support Services
Yale-New Haven Hospital
20 York Street, HB 503
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: (203) 688-4634
Fax: (203) 688-2823

Silvia M. Ferretti, D.O. (2012)
Provost, Senior Vice President, and Dean of Academic Affairs
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
1858 West Grandview Boulevard
Erie, PA 16509-1025
Phone: (814) 866-6641
Fax: (814) 866-8411

Helen W. Haskell, M.A. (2012)
Founder and President
Mothers Against Medical Error
155 South Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29205
Phone: (803) 254-8804

Ardis Dee Hoven, M.D. (2012)
Professor of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Kentucky College of Medicine
American Medical Association
BlueGrass Care Clinic
2912 Sweet William Court
Lexington, KY 40502
Phone: (859) 323-5544

Michael P. Johnson, PT, PhD, OCS (2014)
Division Director and Chief Clinical Officer
Home Health Practice
Bayada Home Health Care
Suite 11, 1 Executive Drive
Moorestown, NJ 08057
Phone: (856) 380-1818

Newell E. McElwee III, PharmD, MSPH (2014)
Executive Director
U.S. Outcomes Research
Merck Global Affairs
351 North Sumneytown Pike
North Wales, PA 19454-2505
Phone: (267) 305-2503

Andrea H. McGuire, MD, MBA (2013)
President and Chief Operating Officer
Meridian Health Plan
666 Grand Avenue, 14th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 802-3500
Fax: (515) 802-3553

Henry H. Ng, MD, MPH, FAAP, FACP (2014)
MetroHealth Medical Center
Assistant Professor
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
2500 MetroHealth Drive
Cleveland, OH 44109
Phone: (216) 778-2882

Welton O'Neal, Jr., PharmD (2012)
Vice President of Pharmacy Affairs, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
Executive Director, Foundation of Managed Care Pharmacy
100 North Pitt Street, Suite 400
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (703) 683-8416, ext. 619

David F. Penson, MD, MPH (2014)
Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Professor of Urologic Surgery
Vanderbilt University
Suite 600, 2525 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203-1738
Phone: (615) 343-1529

Christopher Queram, MA (2013)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality
P.O. Box 628578
Middleton, WI 53562
Phone: (608) 826-6837

Katherine A. Schneider, M.D., M.Phil. (2012)
Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
Medicision, Inc.
601 Lee Road
Chesterbrook Corporate Center
Wayne, PA 19087-5607
Phone: (484) 323-2507
Fax: (610) 540-0204

Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH (2014)
Tufts Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Tufts University
Executive Director
Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies
Tufts Medical Center
Room 63, 800 Washington Street
Boston, MA 02111
Phone: (617) 636-5009

Alan R. Spitzer, MD (2013)
Senior Vice President for Research, Education, and Quality
MEDNAX Services/Pediatrix Medical Group/American Anesthesiology
1301 Concord Terrace
Sunrise, FL 33323
Phone: (954) 384-0175, ext. 5660
Fax: (954) 337-2787

Jeffery Thompson, MD, MPH (2013)
Chief Medical Officer
Medicaid Purchasing Administration
Department of Social and Health Services
State of Washington
626 8th Avenue, S.E.
Olympia, WA 98504-5502
Phone: (360) 725-1612

Janet S. Wyatt, PhD, RN, FAANP (2013)
Executive Director
Institute of Pediatric Nursing
800 South Frederick Avenue, Suite 204
Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4152
Phone: (888) 641-2767
Fax: (301) 330-1504

Top of Page

NAC Coordinators

Jaime Zimmerman, MPH
NAC Coordinator

Office of the Director
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 427-1456

Karen Brooks
Office of the Director
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 427-1801

Top of Page

Current as of August 2012

Internet Citation:

National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality. August 2012. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.


AHRQAdvancing Excellence in Health Care