The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
Department of Health and Human Services
Federal Advisory Committees
  • Print this
  • Email this

HRSA's Federal Advisory Committees are established to advise or make recommendations on matters relating to the programs, responsibilities, or activities of the Department of Health and Human Services. The Federal Advisory Committee Act (P.L. 92-463) defines what constitutes a Federal advisory committee and provides general procedures to follow for the operation of advisory committees.  In addition, FACA is designed to assure that the Congress and the public are kept informed with respect to the purpose, membership, and activities of advisory committees.

The Division of Policy Information and Coordination coordinates advisory committee management activities for HRSA's 14 advisory committees, and serves as the official liaison between HRSA and the HHS Committee Management Officer, Office of the White House Liaison, Office of the Secretary. Each Advisory Committee is managed by a Designated Federal Official who is responsible for the Committee's management and administrative matters. 

Health Professions

Maternal and Child Health


Rural Health and Migrant Health




* indicates a discretionary advisory committee authorized by statute; all others are non-discretionary advisory committees mandated by statute