Skip Navigation

Grant Information for Current and Prospective HHS Grantees

In support of its mission, HHS awards grants for more than 300 programs and is the largest grant-awarding agency in the Federal government. HHS awards two types of grants: non-discretionary and discretionary.

  • Non-Discretionary grants are those that a federal agency is required by statute to award if the recipient, usually a state, submits an acceptable State Plan or application and meets the eligibility and compliance requirements of the statutory and regulatory provisions of the grant program.
  • Discretionary grants permit the federal government, according to specific authorizing legislation, to exercise judgment, or "discretion," in selecting the applicant/recipient organization, through a competitive grant process.

Information for Applicants and Grantees

Grants Policies, Laws, and Regulations

Administrative Links

This grant information site is maintained by the HHS Division of Grants (DG). Please share your comments and suggestions for this site by email to:


Last Updated: 07/07/2011