Independent Researchers for Hire
Researchers Specializing in Audio and Sound Records *
a3Genealogy
4404 Harrison St. Ste 3A
Kansas City, MO 64110
Telephone: (816) 729-5995
Fax: (816) 817-2146
E-mail: a3genealogy@gmail.com
Contact Person: Kathleen Brandt, Professional Genealogist & Consultant
Research Specialty: Military records, immigration/emigration and naturalization, Native American Relations Records, African American records, Captured German Records, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Navy Records. Media: Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs/Pictures and Textual Records.
AAA Document Research and Retrieval Service
(A subsidiary of Data Reign Paralegal Services)
P.O. Box 1347
Euless, Texas 76039-1347
Telephone: (866) 633-8723
Fax: (972) 546-0552
E-mail: info@datareign.com
Contact Person: Jim Barber
Absolutely Archives
Post Office Box 922
Greenbelt, MD 20768-0922
Telephone: (703) 967-3070
Fax: (301) 474-8290
E-mail: info@absolutelyarchives.com
Contact Person: Joseph P. Harris
Research Specialty: Former National Archives employee maintaining the audio-visual collections, now a full-time, on-site researcher with over 15 years experience in audio-visual and textual records. Also specializes in copyright and audio-visual records at the Library of Congress.
Archival and Public Domain Research
(of Meadow Tree Films/Meadow Tree Press)
4224 Military Rd. NW
Washington, DC 20015
Telephone: (cell phone): (978) 835-0440
E-mail: meadowtrees@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Mary Jane Williams
Research Specialty: Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. (Know French, German, some Italian.) Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment, captured German records.
Archival Research
3200 16th Street, NW #806
Washington, D.C. 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
E-mail: jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Contact Person: Jeremy Bigwood
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, diplomatic, military, and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945). Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives - or either one of the two - essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.
BACM Research
264 South LaCienega Blvd #1142
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Telephone: (310) 289-2320
Fax: (310) 289-2320
E-mail: archivist@paperlessarchives.com
Contact Person: John Spencer
Research Specialty: All media types textual documents, photographs, film, video and audio recordings. Custom research and access to pre-compiled popular material and subjects through computer media. Subjects and topics include: African American History, Central Intelligence Agency, CIA CREST, Civil Rights, Civil War, Cold War, Crime, Department of Defense, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Foreign Policy, Korean War, National Security Agency, President Franklin Roosevelt, President Harry Truman, President Dwight Eisenhower, President John Kennedy, President Richard Nixon, President Gerald Ford, President Ronald Reagan, President George H.W. Bush, President George W. Bush, Slavery, Vietnam War, World War I, World War II.
BG Research Services
2680 Walston Road
Mount Airy, MD 21771-8812
Telephone: (641) 715-3900 Ext 457500#
E-mail: bgresearchcontact@gmail.com
Contact Person: Charles "Buckey" Grimm
Research Specialty: Record Group 64, records related to founding and history of the National Archives Motion Picture Division; 1936 WPA Motion Picture, Sound and Recording Survey; motion picture history; film preservation and history, WWI and WWII footage, USDA Films, U.S. Government Film Production
Martin Baldessari
1522 Monroe Street NW
Washington, DC 20010-3141
Telephone: (202) 328-1155
E-mail: madaba@verizon.net
Contact Person: Martin Baldessari
Research Specialty: Heavy experience in Still Pictures Branch. Also familiar with Motion Picture, Textual, and Cartographic. Generalist, with particular experience on Civil War and WWII.
Bonnie G. Rowan Film Research
1849 California Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-1808
Telephone: (202) 265-1081
Fax: (202) 265-1234
E-mail: browan@his.com
Contact Person: Bonnie G. Rowan
Research Specialty: Full-time, on-site research in motion pictures, video, recorded sound, still pictures, and textual records; 20th century US and world history, black history, POW's, sports, humor, air and space, children, and technology; twenty-one years research experience.
Mia Cruz
2107 Tanglewood Dr.
Waldorf, MD
Telephone: (408) 309-9682
Fax: (202) 265-1234
E-mail: mia@cruz.net
Contact Person: Mia Cruz
Research Specialty: Worked in Motion Picture, Sound and Video Branch, Worked in Research Room 4000
Michael Dolan
1515 16th Street NW 1B
Washington, DC 20036-1467
Telephone: (202) 667-0534
Fax: (202) 667-0572
E-mail: m.r.dolan@att.net
Contact Person: Michael Dolan
Research Specialty: Motion picture film, photo, sound recordings - all subjects and record groups
John P. Elliott
5108 Magnum Road
College Park, MD 20740-1510
Telephone: (301)792-9673
Fax: (408)-228-0658
E-mail: johnatarchives@yahoo.com
Contact Person: John P. Elliott
Edward Engel
313 Highland Terrace
Prince Frederick, MD 20678-4425
Telephone: (410) 610-2685
E-mail: edwardengel@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Edward Engel
Fox Company Research
113 Stone Point Dr, Unit 247
Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: (443) 254-1634
E-mail: darren@foxcompanyresearch.com
Contact Person: Darren Neely
Research Specialty: Textual, photographs and motion picture records primarily for WW2. Have completed a thorough collection and presentation of seven WW2 veterans including unit reports, photos and movie footage. Expert at photo collection.
Gina McNeely Picture Research
21470 Basil Court
Broadlands, VA 20148-3611
Telephone: (703) 723-6770
E-mail: gina.mcneely@comcast.net
Contact Person: Gina McNeely
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament.
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
E-mail: satuhw@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Satu Haase-Webb
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights. On-site, 15+ yrs experience. German speaker (native)
Helen Weiss Productions
Post Office Box 21264
Washington, DC 20009-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
E-mail: hwprod2004@aol.com
Contact Person: Helen Weiss
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual - all subjects
HIstory Piquette/Gregory T. Smith, Chief Archival Investigations
2399 White Oak Trail
Oregon, WI 53575
Telephone: (608) 843-6633
E-mail: bad_tolz@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Gregory T. Smith, Chief Archival Investigations
Research Specialty: General Research, Military Research, Communications Research, Corporate Archival Research, Media Archival Research (NBC, ABC, CBS), Entertainment Industry Research.
Matthew C. Hogan
P.O. Box 643
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Telephone: (301) 922-9065
Fax: (301) 890-0688
E-mail: hoganresearch@gmail.com
Contact Person: Matthew Hogan
Research Specialty: African American History, Asbestos, Court Records, Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization; Military Records; Science, Technology, and Natural Resources; Diplomatic Records, Captured German Records; Cold War records; Congressional Records; Genealogy and Family History Records; Intelligence records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon records; Still Photos; Audio-Visual
Imagefinders, Inc.
6101 Utah Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone: (202) 244-4456
Fax: (202) 244-3237
E-mail: hartjens@erols.com
Contact Person: Elisabeth M. Hartjens
Research Specialty: Motion picture, sound, and video; still images; textual records, including Congressional, Coast Guard and lighthouse, diplomatic, military, Navy, immigration and naturalization, and Nixon related records
Adam Kennedy
P.O.Box 1301
Crown Point, IN 46308-1301
Contact Person: Adam Kennedy
Research Specialty: Film and still images (photographs). Research for documentations, screenwriters, producers, and other filmakers. Declassified documents. Areas of interest/specialty: Architecture, Chicago, city planning, Military, Middle East, Labor Politics, and Sports Women.
Look & Listen
2908 South Jackson St.
Seattle, WA 98144-2523
Telephone: (215) 534-1049
E-mail: shelly.leavens@gmail.com
Contact Person: Shelly Leavens
Research Specialty: Oral history; audio & video recordings; architectural history & property ownership; cemetery research; Scandinavian languages, esp. Swedish; German; maritime
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
E-mail: info@theleonardgroupinc.com
Contact Person: Kevin Leonard
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.
Rosanna Martinez
P.O.Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
E-mail: rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.
Meaning in Forms
120 Kenilworth Place, 5D
Brooklyn, NY 11210-2447
Telephone: (718) 398-9656
E-mail: minda@meaninginforms.com
E-mail: mnovek@optimum.net
Contact Person: Minda Novek
Research Specialty: American history (all periods, especially 19th and 20th century), World history, people, cultural events and figures, scientific discovery; NARA photographs and pictures, film and video recordings, sound recordings
Cynthia Mitchell
P.O. Box 1647
Manassas, VA 20108-1647
Telephone: (703) 361-0660
Fax: (703) 335-9287
E-mail: cindypd77@aol.com
Contact Person: Cynthia Mitchell
Research Specialty: Archival film, photos and sound research. Public Domain Images and Copyrighted Collections.
MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec Street NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone: (202) 537-3256
Fax: (202) 966-5816
E-mail: joanmathys@msn.com
Contact Person: Joan M. Mathys
Research Specialty: Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials
Nanotheater - Clifford Enz
712 Schindler Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20903-1330
Telephone: (877) 256-9890
Fax: (
(877) 256-9890
E-mail: nanotheater@gmail.com
Contact Person: Cliff Enz
Research Specialty: Video/Audio General research-textual, video, historical, cartographic, motion picture, audio, still photo, experienced in railroad, Civil War, WWI and WWII, Vietnam.
Polly Pettit
8005 Maple Ave
Takoma Park, MD 20912
Telephone: (301)589-3025
Fax: (301) 589-3025
E-mail: pjpettit@erols.com
Contact Person: Polly Pettit
Research Specialty: Experience since 1982 with motion picture, sound and video collections. All record groups. Special interest in 20th century historical events and personalities and color WWII footage.
Phoenix Aviation Research
4141 41st Street 1-M
Sunnyside, NY 11104-3243
Telephone: (718) 937-7436
E-mail: jeannette.remak@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Jeanette Remak
Research Specialty: Military Research, all Branches of Military, Aviation Research, Civil + Military Records, Record Groups, Media.
C.L. Philips
1718 M Street NW #142
Washington, DC 20036
Telephone: (202) 657-6192
E-mail: clphilips@gmail.com
Contact Person: C.L. Philips
Research Specialty: General research in all media [audio, film, pictures, text] in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including biography, diplomacy, genealogy, history, literature, military, performing arts, politics, etc.
The Photo Editor
4731 Williamsburg Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22207-2835
Telephone: (703) 765-1626
E-mail: fotoeditor@comcast.net
Contact Person: Jane A. Martin
Photoassist, Inc.
7735 Old Georgetown Rd., Lower Level
Bethesda, MD 20814-6130
Telephone: (301) 652-2566
Fax: (301) 652-2521
E-mail: info@photoassist.com
Contact Person: Jenny Trucano
Recordations
205 Yoakum Pkwy., #1105
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (301) 233-0651
E-mail: culturalheritage@fastmail.fm
Contact Person: Richard Vidutis
Research Specialty: Military records (base records, theater construction engineering, ordnance locations, base architecture, oral histories); Engineering records (bridge construction, plans, mining, architecture); Marine records (ship types, plans, shipwreck locations, fatalities, cargo manifests, customs records); Immigration (emigration, ethnic communities, census records, labor history); Cartographic and architectural records (maps, drawings); Photographs and pictures.
Erica L. Risberg, Ph. D.
950 SW 21st Ave, Apt PH-D
Portland, OR 97205
Telephone: 917-575-4618
E-mail: erica.l.risberg@gmail.com
Contact Person: Erica Risberg
Research Specialty: Technology, government agency documents, business correspondence, business records, 20th century documents, rural history, sound and video recordings.
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
E-mail: strangeresearch@mac.com
Contact Person: Susan Strange
Research Specialty: Motion pictures - full time on site research; still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
Marsha Ann Tate, Ph.D.
132 South Main Street
Pleasant Gap, PA 16823-3210
Telephone: (814) 359-3367
E-mail: marsha@mtateresearch.com
Contact Person: Marsha Ann Tate
Research Specialty: Census Records, Congressional Records, Court Records, Diplomatic Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records, Intelligence, Labor and Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agency Records, Military Records, Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs and Pictures
Taylor &; Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N. Pitt Street, Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Contact Person: John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration &; Naturalization; Labor &; Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film &; Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures
Thaxton Green Studios, Inc
PO Box 360
Millwood VA
Telephone: (540) 837-9300
E-mail: david@thaxtongreen.com
Fax: (540) 837-9310
Contact Person: David Thaxton/Kevin Green
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Video and Still Picture research for inclusion into television documentaries, feature films and other media productions. 30 years experience in archive research, consultation and production.
Visual Research Consultant
3356 Pennsylvania Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20020-2407
Telephone: (202) 584-3994
Fax: (202) 584-3094
E-mail: susanhormuth@verizon.net
Contact Person: Susan Hormuth
Research Specialty: Motion Picture, Sound and Video recordings, and Still Picture Research. All subject areas, with particular experience in popular culture, African-American history, Civil Rights, World Wars, Korean and Vietnam wars. Full-time, on-site research. Twenty-five years experience in visual research in DC area.
War Veterans Oral History Project/world War II Lecture Institute
16 Kings Road
Sicklersville (Gloucester Township), New Jersey
Telephone: (856) 296-9256
E-mail: brandon.traister@us.army.mil
Contact Person: Brandon Traister
Research Specialty: Any media pertaining to the Second World War including but not limited to, photographs, oral recordings, audio recordings, video recordings, documents, magazines, films, books, records, etc.
Writers Ink Media Services
938 East Tantallon Drive
Fort Washington, MD 20744-5209
Telephone: (301) 292-2027
E-mail: info@writersinkmedia.com
Contact Person: M. S. Shell
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, audio, photo stills and video recordings. Our
facility provides broadcast duplications and screening files.
Find a researcher by:
Blogs
Facebook
Flickr
RSS Feeds
Twitter
YouTube
