Data.gov - Empowering People

Skip to navigation Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to login
/
Open Data

What datasets are you using or wish were available?

If you are a developer or just wanting information, what datasets are you (or others) pointing to? What datasets do you wish were made available?

Comments

@Paullette1951

Re: Data needed....

Usually ILECs and CLECs report subscriber lines at least annually to the Regulatory Commission for the State you need data for. 

Atlanta bankruptcy attorney

Much appreciation for this blog. Truly fascinating and professionally written post. I would like to find more in the near future.

I have been working on

I have been working on emergency management in my country - Italy -. I am not a technician, geologist or engineer, but I deal with content for the web, communications. As a I have a background as a researcher I know that data are crucial, as they allow to take better decision.
What I realized is that it could be so incredibly difficult to gather and collect data such as: forestfires, floodings, ...., structures. One exception: earthquakes, thanks to the great job of INGV (National Institute http://www.ingv.it/eng/the-ingv/). Why? Some of them are not public, some others are in pdf documents, or in no-sharable formats.
So I started to think to find a solution as, in my opinion, building a more resilient society, as European Union affirms, means to allow the public to know and analyse all these data. The public means: citizens, volunteers association, media. During an emergency event, as I experienced during the last earthquake in my country, to have data and to have not can make the difference.