

AGENDA DOCUMENT NO. 12-20

MINUTES OF AN OPEN MEETING OF THE FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION <u>THURSDAY, MARCH 22, 2012</u>

PRESENT: Caroline C. Hunter, Chair, presiding

Ellen L. Weintraub, Vice Chair

Donald F. McGahn II, Commissioner

Matthew S. Petersen, Commissioner

Steven T. Walther, Commissioner

Alec Palmer, Staff Director

Anthony Herman, General Counsel

Shawn Woodhead Werth, Secretary and Clerk

Chair Caroline C. Hunter called the Federal Election Commission to

order in an open meeting at 10:05 A.M. on Thursday, March 22, 2012 with a

quorum present.

I. CORRECTION AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes for March 1, 2012 Agenda Document No. 12-18

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who

MOVED to approve the minutes for the meeting of March 1, 2012 as set forth in Agenda Document No. 12-18.

The motion carried on a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter,

McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the

decision. Commissioner Bauerly was not present and did not vote.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who

MOVED to waive the rules on the timely submission of agenda documents so that the Commission may consider Agenda Document Nos. 12-17 and 12-19.

The motion carried on a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter,

McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the

decision. Commissioner Bauerly was not present and did not vote.

II. DRAFT ADVISORY OPINION 2012-05

Lantos Foundation for Human Rights & Justice by Eric Schnapper

Tom Lantos for Congress Committee by Janet Szelenyi, Treasurer

Agenda Document No. 12-17 (Submitted Late)

Chair Hunter recognized Ms. Joanna Waldstreicher of the General

Counsel's Office who presented the draft advisory opinion concerning the

application of the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as amended,

and Commission regulations to the proposed plan of the Tom Lantos for

Congress Committee to donate the balance of its funds to the Lantos

Foundation for Human Rights & Justice subject to certain restrictions.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who

MOVED to approve the answer in Draft Advisory Opinion 2012-05 as set forth in Agenda Document No. 12-17.

The motion carried on a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter,

McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the

decision. Commissioner Bauerly was not present and did not vote.

III. DRAFT ADVISORY OPINION 2012-06

RickPerry.org, Inc. by Salvatore Purpura, Treasurer

<u>Agenda Document No. 12-19 – Drafts A and B</u> (Submitted Late) Federal Election Commission Minutes of an Open Meeting March 22, 2012

Chair Hunter recognized Ms. Cheryl Hemsley of the General Counsel's Office who presented the draft advisory opinion concerning the application of the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as amended, and Commission regulations to RickPerry.org, Inc.'s proposed conversion to a nonconnected committee, the use of its remaining primary election funds by the nonconnected committee, and the redesignation of general election campaign funds to the nonconnected committee or to Governor Perry's State campaign committee. Ms. Hemsley summarized the differences between the drafts with respect to the redesignation of the general election campaign funds.

Chair Hunter noted that Mr. Matthew Sanderson, the requestor's counsel, was available to answer Commissioners' questions.

General Counsel Anthony Herman participated in the discussion which followed.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who

MOVED to approve Draft A with appropriate technical and conforming amendments.

<u>The motion failed on a vote of 2-3</u> with Commissioners Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the motion. Commissioners Hunter, McGahn and Petersen dissented. Commissioner Bauerly was not present and did not vote. **Chair Hunter recognized Commissioner Petersen who**

MOVED to approve Draft B as set forth in Agenda Document No. 12-19.

The motion failed on a vote of 3-2 with Commissioners Hunter,

McGahn and Petersen voting affirmatively for the motion. Commissioners

Walther and Weintraub dissented. Commissioner Bauerly was not present

and did not vote.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who

MOVED to direct the Office of General Counsel to prepare a draft in response to the request that incorporates the background section and the response to Question 1 in Agenda Document No. 12-19, Draft B, with the introduction revised accordingly and any necessary technical and conforming edits; states that the Commission could not agree on a response by the required four affirmative votes with respect to Questions 2 and 3; and circulate that draft for approval on a shortened tally vote basis.

The motion carried on a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter,

McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the

decision. Commissioner Bauerly was not present and did not vote.

Chair Hunter stated that today the Commission is unveiling its new

Campaign Finance Disclosure Portal, which is designed to put the

Commission's voluminous campaign finance data in one, more user-friendly

location on the website. She thanked staff for their efforts on this project

Federal Election Commission Minutes of an Open Meeting March 22, 2012

and recognized Staff Director Alec Palmer who provided an overview of the Portal and its three main categories: a graphical representation consisting of maps and charts; a searchable presentation for reviewing reports and statements; and a downloadable disclosure data section. He thanked staff from every Commission division who collaborated on the project.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub who noted that the majority of the work on this project was completed in-house and congratulated Mr. Palmer and the talented staff for the great job.

Chair Hunter recognized Vice Chair Weintraub for a moment of personal privilege who noted that this week Maryland Senator Barbara Mikulski became the longest serving woman in the history of Congress.

IV. MANAGEMENT AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 10:35 A.M.

Signed:

Caroline C. Hunter Chair of the Commission

Attest:

Shawn Woodhead Werth Secretary and Clerk of the Commission