

ILLINOIS

COUNTIES

Illinois has 102 counties. There are 3071 counties in the United States. Counties are the primary legal divisions of most states and generally are functioning governmental units. They are known as "parishes" in Louisiana. In Alaska, Census Areas are used for statistical purposes, while the principal governmental units are boroughs. Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia also have independent cities, government units outside the jurisdiction of any county.



Lake Michigan Jo Daviess Stephenson Winne-Waukegan. bago McHenry Lake **MICHIGAN** Rockford - Skekie • Evanston Carroll Ogle Elgin De Kalb. Kane Chicago Dixon **IOWA** DuPage DeKalb Whiteside Sterling Lee Kendall Joliet Rock Island Moline Will Rock Island Bureau La Salle Grundy .Kewanee _ Put-Mercer Kankakee Kankakee* Stark Marshall Galesburg-Livingston Knox Peoria Peoria Woodford **Iroquois** Canton. Pekin Normal F Bloomington Ford McDon-**Fulton** Tazewell Hancock ough Champaign Vermilion Mason De Witt Champaign Danv Urbana Schuyler Danville. INDIANA Adams Logan Menard Piatt Brown Cass Quincy Springfield *Decatur **Douglas** Scott Morgan Sangamon Edgar Moultri Christian Coles Pana. Shelby Greene Clark Cumber-Montgomery Macoupin Jersey Fayette Effingham Jasper Vandalla Alton Crawford Bond Madison Olney Clay Lawrence East St Louis Marion Richland Clinton **MISSOURI** Centralia Belleville • St Clair Washington Mount Vernon. Wayne Monroe Jefferson Hamilton Carmi Perry Randolph White Franklin Jackson Gallatin Saline schondale • Hardin John-KENTUCKY Union Pope Alexan-

U.S. Department of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey

The National Atlas of the United States of America®