SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTIES

South Carolina has 46 counties. There are 3071 counties in the United States. Counties are the primary legal divisions of most states and generally are functioning governmental units. They are known as "parishes" in Louisiana. In Alaska, Census Areas are used for statistical purposes, while the principal governmental units are boroughs. Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia also have independent cities, government units outside the jurisdiction of any county.





Cherokee NORTH CAROLINA Spartanburg York **Pickens** Spartanburg Rock Hill *Greenville Easley • Oconee Clemson Union. .Chester Lancaster Cheraw. Union Chester Lancaster Chesterfield Anderson Marlboro Laurens *Anderson Laurens Fairfield Dillon **Darlington** Newberry Kershaw Darlington* Abbeville Newberry Marion Camden • Mullins Abbeville • Lee *Florence Marion Greenwood Columbia * Richland Florence Saluda Horry Sumter Lexington Sumter · Lake City Conway Edgefield Myrtle Beach Calhoun Kingstree Aiken Clarendon Williamsburg *Aiken Orangeburg . Georgetown **Orangeburg** · Georgetown Barnwell Bamberg Bamberg Berkeley Dorchester **GEORGIA** Allendale Allendale Walterboro . Colleton Charleston Hampton Charleston **Jasper** Beaufort

U.S. Department of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey

The National Atlas of the United States of America®