# 2013 NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD VANNEVAR BUSH AWARD CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

## Honoring Exceptional Service to the Nation in Science and Technology

The Vannevar Bush Award honors truly exceptional lifelong leaders in science and technology who have made substantial contributions to the welfare of the Nation through public service activities in science, technology, and public policy. The award was established in 1980 in the memory of Vannevar Bush, who served as a science advisor to President Franklin Roosevelt during World War II, helped to establish Federal funding for science and engineering as a national priority during peacetime, and was behind the creation of the National Science Foundation.

Recipients of the Vannevar Bush Award include such renowned leaders in science and technology as: Charles Townes, Harold Varmus, Maxine Singer, H. Guyford Stever, Phillip Abelson, Norman Ramsey, Linus Pauling, Shirley Ann Jackson, Norman Augustine, Mildred Dresselhaus, Charles Vest, and Leon Lederman.

#### **SELECTION CRITERIA**

- Distinguished him/herself through public service activities in science and technology.
- Pioneered the exploration, charting, and settlement of new frontiers in science, technology, education, and public service.
- Demonstrated leadership and creativity that have inspired others to distinguished careers in science and technology.
- Contributed to the welfare of the Nation and mankind through activities in science and technology.
- Demonstrated leadership and creativity that has helped mold the history of advancements in the Nation's science, technology, and education.

We encourage diverse, high quality nominations for the 2013 Vannevar Bush Award. Additional information and instructions for submitting nominations are available at: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/bush.jsp

Information on past recipients is available at: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/bush\_recipients.jsp

### DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS: NOVEMBER 1, 2012

#### For Questions, Contact:

Ann Ferrante, Program Manager

Phone: 703-292-4520 Email: aferrant@nsf.gov



The NSB is the 25-member policymaking body for the National Science Foundation (NSF) and advisory body to the President and Congress on science and engineering issues. Drawn from universities and industry, and representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines and geographic areas, NSB members are selected for their eminence in research, education, or public service, and records of distinguished service. For more background on the NSB and its current composition, visit: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/about/index.jsp