External link, please review our disclaimer.

Society for Neuroscience Jacob P. Waletsky Memorial Award

Established in 2003, the annual Society for Neuroscience Jacob P. Waletsky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism recognizes the research contributions made by outstanding junior scientists in the area of drug addiction or alcoholism, and the nervous system. Awardees must have received an advanced degree M.D., Ph.D., or equivalent) within the past 15 years. Recipients of this award include:

  • J. David Jentsch (2011)
  • Paul Kenny (2010)
  • Geoffrey Schoenbaum (2009)
  • Chris Pierce (2008)
  • Marina Picciotto (2007)
  • Yavin Shaham (2006)
  • William Carlezon (2005)
  • Antonello Bonci (2004)
  • Pier Vincenzo Piazza (2003)

This page was last updated April 6, 2012.

Featured Publication

Featured Publication

Drugs, Brains, and Behavior - The Science of Addiction

As a result of scientific research, we know that addiction is a disease that affects both brain and behavior.

The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NIH...Turning Discovery Into Health

National Institute on Drug Abuse   |   6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213   |   Bethesda, MD 20892-9561

Questions for our staff? E-mail information@nida.nih.gov or call 301-443-1124 (240-221-4007 en español).

Mobile Site