US flag   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Federal Network Security

The Federal Network Security (FNS) Branch collaborates across the federal government to enhance the nation’s cybersecurity posture by:

  • Identifying common requirements across the federal government
  • Collaborating with components of the federal enterprise to identify solutions
  • Implementing policy and technical solutions
  • Monitoring the effectiveness of implemented solutions


FNS is focused on a variety of initiatives that improve the long-term security posture of the federal government:

  • Domain Name Systems Security (DNSSEC) provides a secure authentication to government websites for public users to transmit information while utilizing online government services.
  • Federal Information Security Memoranda (FISM) DHS issued memoranda informing Federal departments and agencies of their responsibilities, required actions, and effective dates to achieve federal information security policies.
  • Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) outlines DHS responsibilities for providing guidance and operational support to federal agencies in securing federal systems and ensuring information security performance.
  • FISMA Reporting Service Offerings provides FISMA Reporting Shared Service Centers (SSCs) so agencies can improve security reporting using automated, efficient channels.
  • Managed Trusted Internet Protocol Services (MTIPS) provides managed security services for agency compliance with the Trusted Internet Connection (TIC) mandate to reduce and consolidate agencies’ connections to the Internet.
  • Risk Management Framework Service Offerings facilitates agencies’ use of Shared Service Centers to implement Risk Management Framework solutions, which reduce costs of completing authorization and accreditation using legacy systems.
  • Security Awareness and Training provides common suites of information systems security training products and services for the federal government.
  • Situational Awareness and Incident Response (SAIR) provides local, tribal, state, and federal governments with quick access to Blanket Purchase Agreements to procure products and services that address gaps in configuration management, network mapping/path discovery, and vulnerability management.
  • Trusted Internet Connections (TIC)  Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative (CNCI) 1 optimizes and standardizes the security of individual external network connections used by the federal government. It provides improvement to the government’s overall security posture by reducing and consolidating the number of external network connections through the use of approved TIC access points.
  • Cybersecurity Compliance Validations (CCV) provide federal agencies with onsite assessments to measure compliance with with federal cyber mandates including FISMA, TIC, and DNSSEC.


Our Partners

FNS partners with the public and private sector to build cohesion and enhance the security, resiliency, and reliability of the nation's cyber and communications infrastructure. FNS partners include:

Back to Top