If you deactivate your account, your timeline disappears from the Facebook service immediately. People on Facebook won't be able to search for you, though some info, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others. We also save your timeline information (ex: friends, photos, interests, etc.) in case you want to come back.
If you don't think you'll use Facebook again, you can request to have your account permanently deleted. Please keep in mind that you won't be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you've added. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your info from Facebook. Then, if you'd like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log in to your account and fill out this form.
If you can't log in to your account, you'll need to reset your password first. To do this, go to www.facebook.com and click the Forgot your password? link below the password field. Once you’ve followed the instructions to reset your password and can log into your account, you can deactivate or delete your account using the steps outlined above.
When creating a new password, be sure that it is at least 6 characters in length and that you use a complex string of numbers, letters, and punctuation marks. If the password you entered is not strong enough, you may want to try mixing uppercase and lowercase letters or making your password longer.
Ideally, the password you select should be easy for you to remember but hard for someone else to figure out. For added security, your Facebook password should also be different than other passwords that you use on the internet.
If the time stamps you see on Facebook are incorrect, your computer’s time settings are probably wrong. Facebook uses your computer’s time settings, so please make sure this information is correct. Once you have adjusted these settings, log out of Facebook and then log back in. Your Facebook time stamps should be adjusted accordingly.
Click the Update Info button (under your cover photo)
Find the Basic Info section and click Edit
Enter your real birthday in the Birthday field
Save your changes
Note: We have limits in a place around the number of times you can edit your birthday. If you recently edited your birthday, you may have to wait a few days before changing it again. Learn more about our Community Standards.
Check Include this on my timeline to have your alternate name listed on your timeline. Otherwise, it will only help people find you in search.
Save your changes.
Note: If you checked the box to have your alternate name listed on your timeline, it will appear next to your name at the top of your personal timeline page. It will also show up next to your name in search results and any friend requests you send. If you have a large number of public subscribers, you may be prompted to verify your account when you add an alternate name to your timeline.
If you checked the box to display your alternate name on your timeline, it will appear in parentheses next to your full name at the top of your timeline. People will also see your alternate name if they search for you or when you send friend requests.
If you have a large number of public subscribers, you may have the option to verify your account and display your alternate name on the top of your timeline, with your real name on the About section.