Democratic News

June 22, 2012

Week Ahead: June 25-29

  • On Wednesday, June 27, the national parks subcommittee will consider the following bills:
    • S. 1897, the Gettysburg National Military Park Expansion Act of 2011;
    • · S. 2158, the Fox-Wisconsin Heritage Parkway National Heritage Area Act of 2012;
    • S. 2229, a bill to authorize the issuance of right-of-way permits for natural gas pipelines in Glacier National Park;
    • S. 2267, a bill to reauthorize the Hudson Valley National Heritage Area;
    • S. 2272, a bill to designate a mountain in the State of Alaska as Mount Denali;
    • S. 2273, a bill to designate the Talkeetna Ranger Station in Talkeetna, Alaska, as the Walter Harper Talkeetna Ranger Station;
    • S. 2286, the Lower Farmington River and Salmon Brook Wild and Scenic River Act;
    • S. 2316, a bill to designate the Salt Pond Visitor Center at the Cape Code National Seashore as the “Thomas P. O’Neill, Jr., Salt Pond Visitor Center”;
    • S. 2324, the Upper Neches River Wild and Scenic Study Act;
    • S. 2372, the Preserving Public Access to Cape Hatteras Beaches Act;
    • S. 3300, the Manhattan Project National Historical Park Act; and
    • S. 3078, to install a suitable plaque or an inscription in the area of the World War II Memorial in the area of the World War II Memorial in the District of Columbia a suitable plaque or an inscription with the words that President Franklin D. Roosevelt prayed with the United States on June 6, 1944, the morning of D-Day.

Witnesses include Herbert Frost, associate director of natural resource stewardship and science at the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior; Ingrid Kolb, Director of the Office of Management, U.S. Department of Energy; the Honorable Thomas L. Beehan, mayor of the city of Oak Ridge and chairman of Energy Communities Alliance, Oak Ridge, Tenn.; the Honorable Warren Judge, chairman of the Dare County, North Carolina Board of Commissioners, Manteo, N.C.; and Derb S. Carter, Jr., director of the Carolinas Office, Southern Environmental Law Center, Chapel Hill, N.C.  (Dirksen 366 at 3:00 p.m.)


  • On Thursday, June 28, the full committee will review innovative non-federal programs for financing energy efficient building retrofits.  Witnesses include David Sundstrom, SCEIP program administrator of the County of Sonoma, Santa Rosa, Calif.; Derek Smith, chief executive officer, Clean Energy Works Oregon, Portland, Ore.; William Rodgers, president and chief executive officer of GoodCents, Atlanta; Sheri Borrelli, senior business development professional, The United Illuminating Company, Orange, Conn.; Susan Leeds, chief executive officer, New York City Efficiency Corporation, New York; and Jeffrey DeBoer, president and chief executive officer, The Real Estate Roundtable, Washington, DC.  (Dirksen 366 at 9:30 a.m.)


Bonus …

Chairman Bingaman was presented with the National Park Trust’s Bruce F. Vento Public Service Award last week.   In preparation of that ceremony, the National Park Trust compiled a video with highlights from the Chairman’s Congressional career, which you can watch here; a brief description of the award and highlights of Chairman Bingaman’s legislative career start at minute 4:53.

#          #          #

For more information,

please contact Bill Wicker at 202.224.5243


or Rosemarie Calabro at 202.224.5039


Follow us on Twitter - @SenateEnergy