{ site_name:'The John W. Kluge Center', subscribe_url:'/share/sites/Bapu4ruC/kluge.php' }

The Cary and Ann Maguire Chair in Ethics and American History was established to explore the history of America with special attention to the ethical dimensions of domestic economic, political,

The Chairholder, who is appointed by the Librarian of Congress, conducts research on the ethical issues associated with leadership in the United States and/or on the ethical implications of significant issues, events and movements in American History.

The research includes, but is not limited to, the conduct of politics and of government at all levels of American life and in all branches of government, and at the role in religion, business, urban affairs, law, science and medicine in the ethical dimension of leadership.

The goal is for research that will illuminate the responsible use of ethical knowledge for the public good. The Chairholder concentrates on domestic American matters with special emphasis on how law relates to ethics, and it is hoped that the Chairholder will add new substance to the intellectual and ethical life of the Capital. It is also hoped that the Chairholder will pursue a new and refreshing voice in the intellectual milieu of Washington, D.C., and will bring both philosophical depth and historical perspective to the research.

A major address towards the end of the Chairholder's tenure is one of the major intellectual occasions at the Library of Congress.

Chair Holders

Robin Lovin

Robin Lovin (2013)

  • News release (coming soon)

John Witte, Jr. (2012)

John Witte, Jr.

James F. Childress (2010)

James Childress

William F. May (2007)

William May

2006 - Louis Galambos

Louis Galambos

2004 - Mark Noll

Mark Noll

2003 - Jean Bethke Elshtain

Jean Bethke Elshtain

2001 - John T. Noonan

John T. Noonan

Back to top