United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitor Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Art & History Exhibits
Decorative Art
Graphic Arts
Oral History Homepage

Senate to White House

Warren G. Harding

Since 1789 sixteen senators have become president, but only three have gone directly from the Senate to the White House. In 1920 Warren Harding was the first sitting senator to be elected president. In 1960, with the election of President John Kennedy and Vice President Lyndon Johnson, two sitting senators moved to the White House—an achievement repeated in 2008 by Senators Barack Obama and Joseph Biden.


E-mail a Senate historian

Information provided by the Senate Historical Office.

Questions about Senate History?
Email a Senate historian.