Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Dean Heller

Senator Dean Heller (R)
Hometown: Carson City
Web Form

Photo of Senator Harry Reid

Senator Harry Reid (D)
Hometown: Las Vegas
Web Form


Nevada became the 36th state to join the Union on October 31, 1864. Nevada’s first two senators, William Stewart and James Nye, took office on February 1, 1865. Nevada’s longest-serving senators include John P. Jones (1873-1903), Key Pittman   (1913-1940), and Howard Cannon (1959-1983). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Key Pittman, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, and Harry Reid, who serves as Democratic floor leader.

Additional State Information