Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Jerry Moran

Senator Jerry Moran (R)
Hometown: Hays
Web Form

Photo of Senator Pat Roberts

Senator Pat Roberts (R)
Hometown: Dodge City
Web Form


Kansas became the 34th state to join the Union on January 29, 1861. Kansas’s first two senators, James Lane and Samuel Pomeroy, took office on April 4, 1861. Kansas’s longest-serving senators include Arthur Capper (1919-1949) and Robert Dole (1969-1996). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Charles Curtis, John Ingalls, and Robert Dole. Curtis and Ingalls served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, and Curtis and Robert Dole served as Republican floor leaders. As vice president, Curtis presided over the Senate as its constitutional president or presiding officer.

Additional State Information