[972]

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Territory	Date of establish- ment of territorial government	Population, 1990 census	Estimated population, July 1, 1998	Area in square miles	Formation
District of Columbia		606,900	523,124	69	Established under Art. I, sec. 8, clause 17 of Constitution. Territory originally ceded by Maryland (legislative act of Dec. 23, 1788) and Virginia (legislative act of Dec. 3, 1789). Cessions accepted by Congress by act of July 16, 1790; lines and bounds established by proclamation of President Washington, Mar. 30, 1791. Virginia's cession retroceded by act of Congress July 9, 1846. The government of the District is administered by a Mayor and a 13-member Council, all of whom are elected by the citizens of the District of Columbia. All acts of the council are reviewable by Congress. (Dec. 24, 1973, Pub. L. 93–198.) Pursuant to the District of Columbia Delegate Act the District of Columbia now has a non-voting Delegate to the House of Representatives. (Sept. 22, 1970, Pub. L. 91–405, §8 201–206, 84 Stat. 848.)