PUERTO RICO, INSULAR POSSESSIONS

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO, THE INSULAR POSSESSIONS, AND TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

[973]

Insular possession	Date of establish- ment of insular gov- ernment	Population, 1990 census	Area in square miles	Acquisition
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico	July 25, 1952	3,522,037	3,421	Ceded to United States by Spain by Treaty of Paris, Dec. 10, 1898. The constitution of the Commonwealth was approved July 3, 1952.
Guam American Samoa Virgin Islands	Aug. 1, 1950(1) June 22, 1936	133,152 46,773 101,809	209 77 132	sovereignty accepted from native chiefs by United States Feb. 20, 1929.
Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. Northern Mariana Islands	(1) (2) Jan. 9, 1978	43,345	184	Occupied during World War II. Placed under the United Nations Trusteeship system in 1947 by agreement with the Security Council of the United Nations. Concluded future political status negotiations in 1975 which will establish a commonwealth relationship with the U.S. at termination of the trusteeship. Covenant providing this relationship passed by Congress in March 1976 (P.L. 94–241).

¹Administered under jurisdiction of the Department of the Interior, with a locally drafted constitution and elected governor and legislature.

²As of November 3, 1986 the Marshall Islands and the Federal States of Micronesia became freely associated states. The 1990 population of the remaining territory, the Republic of Palau, was 15,122.