TITLE 20.—EDUCATION

Chapter 3.—SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION

1020 § 42. Board of Regents; members.

(a) Composition

The business of the Institution shall be conducted at the city of Washington by a Board of Regents, named the Regents of the Smithsonian Institution, to be composed of the Vice President, the Chief Justice of the United States, three Members of the Senate, three Members of the House of Representatives, and nine other persons, other than Members of Congress, two of whom shall be resident in the city of Washington, and seven of whom shall be inhabitants of some State, but no two of them of the same State.

(b) Modification of number, appointment or tenure of members; exceptions

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution may modify the number of members, manner of appointment of members, or tenure of members, of the boards or commissions under the jurisdiction of the Smithsonian Institution, other than—

- (1) the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution; and
- (2) the boards or commissions of the National Gallery of Art, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

(As amended Oct. 21, 1998, Pub. L. 105–277, Div. A, §101(e) [Title III, §355], 112 Stat. 2681–231, 2681–303.)

1021 $\S 43$. Appointment of regents; terms of office; vacancies.

The regents to be selected shall be appointed as follows: The Members of the Senate by the President thereof; the Members of the House by the Speaker thereof; and the nine other persons by joint resolution of the Congress. The Members of the House so appointed shall serve for the term of two years; and on every alternate fourth Wednesday of December a like number shall be appointed in the same manner, to serve until the fourth Wednesday in December, in the second year succeeding their appointment. The Senators so appointed shall serve during the term for which they shall hold, without reelection, their office as Senators. Vacancies, occasioned by death, resignation, or otherwise, shall be filled as vacancies in committees are filled. The regular term of service for the other nine members shall be six years; and new elections thereof shall be made by joint resolutions of Congress. Vacancies occasioned by death, resignation, or otherwise may be filled in like manner by joint resolution of Congress. (R.S. §5581; Dec. 15, 1970, Pub. L. 91-551, 84 Stat. 1440.)