National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling

For Immediate Release: Mar. 11, 2011

Contact: Dave Cohen, Press Secretary 202.570.8311 <u>Dave.Cohen@OilSpillCommission.gov</u>

Statement by Richard Lazarus

Executive Director National Oil Spill Commission

March 11, 2011

Today, March 11th, 2011, the National Oil Spill Commission closes its doors. The timing was set by the Presidential Order that created this body on May 21, 2010.

The Commission wishes to thank President Obama for this opportunity and for the commitment and support that the President promised and provided in our mandate to investigate the root causes of BP's Macondo well blowout, the *Deepwater Horizon* rig explosion and the resulting oil spill and "to follow the facts wherever they may lead, without fear or favor."

The full body of work from our investigation will remain posted permanently at <u>www.OilSpillCommission.gov</u>. Among the key written documents available for viewing and downloading on the website: the Commission's Final Report, the Chief Counsel's Report, and Staff Working Papers on myriad issues.

The Commission website also includes a new interactive-media presentation of the Commission's findings and recommendations: <u>www.OilSpillCommission.gov/media</u>.

On the website, the public also can find videos of the testimony given to the Commission by oil company executives, public officials at every level of government, safety experts, drilling engineers, Gulf fisherman, petroleum-industry employees, seafood suppliers, small business owners financially dependent upon tourism, community leaders, a renowned national author and a little-known local musician each uniquely conveying their fears and aspirations, mothers concerned about the health and economic impacts of the spill on their families, marine scientists and many others.

The Commission's Final Report tells the story of the Gulf oil spill and fulfills the President's charge by identifying the spill's root causes and by offering recommendations for changes in government and industry that will reduce the risk of future spills and mitigate their harmful consequences. We hope that both the President and the Congress will now take the steps necessary to ensure that these recommendations are adopted.

In closing now, we remember once more the names of those eleven men whose lives ended too soon when on April 20th, 2010, a massive explosion destroyed the *Deepwater Horizon* rig where they worked and the worst oil spill in our nation's history began to flow unchecked from the seafloor below.

Jason Anderson Aaron Dale Burkeen Donald Clark Stephen Curtis Gordon Jones Roy Wyatt Kemp Karl Dale Kleppinger, Jr. Blair Manuel Dewey Revette Shane Roshto Adam Weise

Commission Members

Bob Graham, Co-Chair William K. Reilly Co-Chair Frances Beinecke Donald F. Boesch Terry D. Garcia Cherry A. Murray Fran Ulmer

Commission Staff and Consultants

Richard Lazarus, Executive Director Tracy Terry, Deputy Director Fred Bartlit, Chief Counsel Jay Hakes, Director of Policy & Research

Priya Aiyar, Deputy Chief Counsel Felicia Barnes, Analyst Adam Benthem, Analyst Gordon Binder, Senior Policy Advisor Paul Bledsoe, Senior Policy Advisor Jed J. Borghei, Counsel C. Hobson Bryan, Analyst Edwin H. Clark, II, Director of Operations Kate Clark, Senior Analyst Dave Cohen, Press Secretary Cindy Drucker, Director of Public Engagement Katherine Duncan, Analyst J. Jackson Eaton, Counsel Michelle Farmer, Executive Legal Assistant Sean Grimsley, Deputy Chief Counsel David Greenberg, Senior Policy Advisor Brent Harris, Counsel Lisa K. Hemmer, Senior Legal Advisor Joe Hernandez, Analyst Joel Hewett, Analyst Christiana James, Staff Assistant Jill Jonnes, Senior Researcher Nancy Kete, Senior Analyst Caitlin Klevorick, Policy Advisor Emily Lindow, Senior Analyst Claire Luby, Assistant to the Executive Director Bethany Mabee, Communications Coordinator Scott McKee, Analyst Claudia A. McMurray, Senior Counsel for Congressional and State Relations Louise Milkman, Chief of Staff to the Executive Director Jon Monger, Counsel Shirley Neff, Senior Analyst Pete Nelson, Director of Communications Elena Nikolova, Analyst Jessica O'Neill, Counsel Paul Ortiz, Senior Legal Advisor Tony Padilla, Analyst Tyler Priest, Senior Analyst Sarah Randle, Analyst Irwin Redlener, Senior Public Health Advisor John S. Rosenberg, Chief Editor Eric Roston, Senior Analyst Sara Rubin, Analyst Sambhav N. Sankar, Deputy Chief Counsel Nicole A. Sarrine, Staff Assistant Richard Sears, Senior Science & Engineering Advisor Steven Siger, Counsel Robert Spies, Senior Environmental Science Advisor Danielle Stewart, Staff Assistant

Marika Tatsutani, Editor Johnny Tenorio, Information Technology Officer Saritha Komatireddy Tice, Counsel Lloyd Timberlake, Senior Researcher Clara Vondrich, Counsel Jason Weil, Analyst David Weiss, Counsel Stephen M. Willie, Administrative Officer Andrea J. Yank, Assistant to Co-Chair William K.Reilly