National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling

For Immediate Release Sept. 22, 2010

Contact: Dave Cohen, Press Secretary 202.570.8311 <u>dave.cohen@oilspillcommission.gov</u>

Oil Spill Commission Announces Agenda for Next Public Meeting

Monday, September 27, 2010 and Tuesday, September 28, 2010 Washington Marriott Wardman Park 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington, DC 20008

<u>Day 1</u>

8:00 am	On-Site Registration	
9:00 am	Call to Order Christopher A. Smith, U.S. Department of Energy, Designated Federal Officer	
(DFO)		
	Opening Remarks by Commissioner Co-Chairs Senator Bob Graham and William K. Reilly	
9:10am	Panel I (a): Decision-Making Within the Unified Command	
	Admiral (ret.) Thad Allen, National Incident Commander for the Unified Command	
9:45 am	Panel I (b): Decision-Making Within the Unified Command	
	Captain Edwin Stanton, Sector Commander, Mobile, U.S. Coast Guard	
	Doug Suttles, Chief Operating Officer for Exploration and Production, BP	
	William "Billy" Nungesser, President of Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana	

11:05 am Break

11:15 am Panel II: The Amount and Fate of the Oil

Dr. Bill Lehr, Senior Scientist, Office of Response and Restoration, NOAA

Dr. Ian MacDonald, Professor of Oceanography, Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Science, Florida State University

Dr. Richard Camilli, Assistant Scientist, Department of Applied Ocean Physics and Engineering, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Terry Hazen, Senior Scientist, Head of the Ecology Department and DOE Distinguished Scientist, Earth Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

12:30 pm Lunch

1:30 pm Panel III (a): The Use of Dispersants

The Honorable Lisa Jackson, EPA Administrator

2:00 pm Panel III (b): The Use of Dispersants

Rear Admiral Mary Landry, Commander, Eighth Coast Guard District, U.S. Coast Guard

2:35 pm Panel IV: The Future of Offshore Drilling

The Honorable Ken Salazar, U.S. Secretary of the Interior

3.35 pm Panel V: Response in the Arctic

Pete Slaiby, Vice President for Exploration & Production, Shell Alaska

Captain John Caplis, Chief, Office of Incident Management and Preparedness, U.S. Coast Guard

Edward Itta, Mayor of North Slope Borough, Alaska

Dennis Takahashi Kelso, Executive Vice President of the Ocean

Conservancy

	4:50 pm	Break	
	5:00 pm	Public Comment	
	5:30 pm	Adjourn	
<u>Day 2</u>			
	8:00 am	On-Site Registration	
	9:00 am (DFO)	Call to Order Christopher A. Smith, U.S. Department of Energy, Designated Federal Officer	
		Opening Remarks by Commissioner Co-Chairs Senator Bob Graham and William K. Reilly	
	9:10 am	Panel I: The Spill, Recovery and the Legacy of Mississippi Delta Management	
		Chris Johns, Editor in Chief, National Geographic	
		John Barry, Author, <i>Rising Tide</i> , member of the Louisiana Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority	
	9:40 am	Panel II: Impacts: Environmental and Economic	
		Lt. Governor Scott Angelle, Louisiana	
		Ms. Jane Lyder, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Fish and Wildlife and Parks, Department of the Interior	
		Dr. John Farrington, Interim Dean, School of Marine Science and Technology, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth	
	10:25 am	Break	
	10:30 am	Panel III: Elected Officials from the Region	
		The Honorable Governor Haley Barbour, Mississippi	
		The Honorable Senator Mary Landrieu, Louisiana	

11:30 am Break

11:40 am Panel IV: Impacts: The Gulf and Seafood Safety

Dr. Steven Murawski, Director of Scientific Programs and Chief Science Advisor, National Marine Fisheries

Dr. Bill Walker, Director of the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

12:30 pm Lunch

1:30 pm Panel V: Legal Authorities for Funding and Restoration Management

Richard Stewart, Professor of Law, New York University

James Tripp, Senior Counsel, Environmental Defense Fund

Stan Senner, Director of Conservation Science, Ocean Conservancy

2:45 pm Break

3:00 pm Panel VI: The States & The Federal Government: Defining a Shared Path for Gulf Restoration

The Honorable Tom Strickland, Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife and Parks, Department of the Interior

Garret Graves, Director, Louisiana Office of Coastal Activities

- 4:30 pm Break
- 5:00 pm Public Comment
- 5:30 pm Adjourn

Press Availability:

With Co-Chairs Senator Bob Graham and former EPA Administrator William K. Reilly during the lunch break on both days.

<u>Camera Set Up:</u> Beginning at 7am.

Required Credentials:

Press I.D. must be shown at entrance to room.

Broadcast Needs:

For satellite-truck parking/wiring, please contact Walton Smith at 703.902.4165 or smith_walton@bah.com.

Agenda Adjustments:

Any subsequent changes will be posted to <u>www.oilspillcommission.gov</u> and disseminated in a press release.