HOME >> Overview


The National Recording Preservation Board, mandated by the National Recording Preservation Act of 2000, is an advisory group bringing together a number of professional organizations and expert individuals concerned with the preservation of recorded sound. The Board is one of three components established by the legislation to form a comprehensive national program to ensure the survival, conservation, and increased public availability of America's sound recording heritage. The other two components of the program are the National Recording Registry and a fund-raising Foundation.

The Board is appointed by the Librarian of Congress and consists of one member and one alternate from each of seventeen organizations representing composers, musicians, musicologists, librarians, archivists, and the recording industry, as named in the law. In addition, the Librarian of Congress may appoint up to five "at-large" members.

National Recording Board Objectives

The National Recording Preservation Act of 2000 charges its Board to:

Members of the National Recording Preservation Board

American Federation of Musicians
Member:  Billy Linneman
Alternate: Vacant

American Folklore Society
Member: Burt Feintuch
Alternate: Timothy Lloyd

American Musicological Society
Member: Mark Katz
Alternate: José Antonio Bowen

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
Member: Sue Drew
Alternate: Loretta Munoz

Association for Recorded Sound Collections
Member: David Seubert
Alternate: Bill Klinger

Audio Engineering Society
Member: George Massenburg
Alternate: Elizabeth Cohen

Broadcast Music, Incorporated
Member: Del Bryant
Alternate: Robbin Ahrold

Country Music Foundation
Member: Kyle Young
Alternate: Alan Stoker

Digital Media Association
Member: Lee Knife
Alternate: Gregory Alan Barnes

Music Library Association
Member: James Farrington
Alternate: Philip Vandermeer

National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences
Member:  Kristen Madsen
Alternate:  Maureen Droney

National Association of Recording Merchandisers
Member:  Rachelle Friedman
Alternate:  Jim Donio

National Archives and Records Administration
Member:  Daniel Rooney
Alternate:  Tom Nastick

Recording Industry Association of America
Member:  David Hughes
Alternate:  Patrick Kraus

Member:  Shannan Hatch
Alternate:  Justin Levenson

Society For Ethnomusicology
Member: Jonathan Kertzer
Alternate:  Alan Burdette

Songwriters Hall of Fame
Member: Vacant
Alternate:  Oscar Brand

Member: Michael Feinstein, www.michaelfeinstein.com
Alternate: Sam Brylawski, Chair

Member: Brenda Nelson-Strauss, Indiana University
Alternate: William Ivey, Curb Center for Art, Enterprise and Public Policy

Member: Sandy Pearlman, McGill University
Alternate: Chris Sterling, George Washington University

Member: Bob Santelli, GRAMMY Museum
Alternate: Jay Carr

Member: Eric Schwartz, Mitchell, Silderberg & Knupp, LLP
Alternate: John Simson, Lommen Abdo

top of page

  HOME >> Overview