JOURNAL

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES

Begun and held at the Capitol, in the City of Washington, in the District of Columbia, on Tuesday, the twenty-fifth day of January, in the year of our Lord nineteen hundred and ninety-four, being the second session of the ONE HUNDRED THIRD CONGRESS, held under the Constitution of the United States, and in the two hundred and eighteenth year of the independence of the United States.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 25, 1994 (1)

The SPEAKER announced that this being the day fixed by Public Law 103-207, 103rd Congress, enacted pursuant to the 20th Amendment of the Constitution, for the meeting of the Second Session of the 103rd Congress, called the House to order.

1.1 RESIGNATION AS MEMBER OF HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The SPEAKER laid before the House the following communication, which was read as follows:

CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES,

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. Washington, DC, January 7, 1994.

Hon, DAVID WALTERS

Governor, State of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, OK

DEAR GOVERNOR: In accordance with the laws of the State of Oklahoma, I am hereby notifying you that I resign from my duties as Representative of the Sixth Congressional District in the United States House of Representatives effective at 12 midnight, January 7, 1994.

Sincerely,

GLENN ENGLISH, Member of Congress.

¶1.2 CALL OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER ordered that the Clerk utilize the electronic system to ascertain the presence of a quorum, and the following-named Members responded:

$\P{1.3}$	[Roll No. 1]	
Abercrombie	Barrett (NE)	Boehner
Ackerman	Barrett (WI)	Bonilla
Allard	Bartlett	Borski
Andrews (ME)	Barton	Boucher
Andrews (NJ)	Bateman	Brooks
Andrews (TX)	Beilenson	Browder
Armey	Bevill	Brown (CA
Bacchus (FL)	Bilbray	Brown (FL
Baesler	Bilirakis	Brown (OH
Baker (CA)	Bishop	Bryant
Ballenger	Blackwell	Bunning
Barca	Bliley	Burton
Barcia	Blute	Buyer
Barlow	Boehlert	Byrne

Callahan Camp Canady Cantwell Cardin Carr Castle Chapman Clayton Clement Clinger Clyburn Coble Coleman Collins (GA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Combest Convers Coppersmith Costello Cox Coyne Crapo Cunningham Danner Darden Deal DeFazio DeLauro DeLay Derrick Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Dingell Dixon Dooley Doolittle Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards (TX) Emerson Engel English Evans Everett Farr Fawell Fazio Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Filner Fingerhut Fish Foglietta Foley Ford (MI) Fowler Franks (CT) Franks (NJ)

Frost Kleczka Furse Gallo Klein Klink Gejdenson Klug Gekas Gephardt Kolbe Geren Gibbons Gilchrest LaFalce Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Lantos Glickman Gonzalez Lazio Goodlatte Leach Goodling Levin Gordon Levy Goss Grams Green Greenwood Gunderson Linder Lipinski Gutierrez Hall (TX) Hamilton Long Hancock Mann Hansen Manton Harman Haves Hefley Hefner Herger Hilliard Matsui Hoagland Mazzoli Hobson Hochbrueckner Hoekstra Hoke McCrerv Horn Houghton Hover McHale Huffington Hughes Hunter Hutchinson Meehan Hutto Meek Hvde Inglis Meyers Inslee Mica Michel Istook Jacobs Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Mineta Johnson, E.B. Minge Johnson, Sam Johnston Kanjorski Moran Morella Kasich Kennedy Kennelly Murphy Kildee Murtha Kim Myers King Nadler

Knollenberg Kopetski Kreidler Lambert Lancaster LaRocco Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Livingston Manzullo Margolies Mezvinsky Markey Martinez McCandless McCloskev McCollum McCurdy McDermott McHugh McMillan McNulty Menendez Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Moakley Montgomery Moorhead

Natcher Neal (NC) Nussle Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Packard Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (VA) Pelosi Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pickle Pombo Pomeroy Portman Poshard Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn Řahall Ramstad Ravenel Regula Revnolds Richardson Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen

Rostenkowski Swift Roukema Synar Talent Rowland Taylor (MS) Roybal-Allard Royce Sabo Tejeda Thomas (WY) Sangmeister Thornton Santorum Sarpalius Thurman Torkildsen Sawyer Torricelli Schaefer Towns Schenk Traficant Schroeder Tucker Unsoeld Schumer Sensenbrenner Upton Serrano Valentine Sharp Velazquez Shaw Vento Shays Visclosky Shepherd Shuster Volkmer Vucanovich Sisisky Walker Skaggs Washington Skeen Waters Skelton Watt Weldon Slattery Slaughter Whitten Smith (IA) Wilson Smith (MI) Wise Smith (TX) Wolf Snowe Woolsev Solomon Wyden Spence Wynn Stearns Yates Stenholm Young (AK) Stokes Strickland Young (FL) Zeliff Stump Stupak Zimmei

Thereupon the SPEAKER announced that 348 Members had been recorded, a auorum.

Swett

Further proceedings under the call were dispensed with.

¶1.4 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

2197. A letter from the Administrator's of Federal Aviation Administration and National Aeronautics and Space Administration, transmitting a report on Subsonic Noise Reduction Technology, pursuant to 49 U.S.C. app. 1353 note; jointly, to the Committee on Public Works and Transportation, and Science, Space, and Technology