Resolved, That it is the sense of the House of Representatives that the President and

the Secretary of State should-

(1) raise the matter of Hugo Princz with the Federal Republic of Germany, including the Chancellor and Foreign Minister, and take all appropriate steps necessary to ensure that this matter will be expeditiously resolved and that fair reparations will be provided Mr. Princz; and

(2) state publicly and unequivocally that the United States will not countenance the continued discriminatory treatment of Hugo Princz in light of the terrible torment he suffered at the hands of the Nazis.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MENENDEZ, recognized Mr. HAMIL-TON and Mr. GILMAN, each for 20 minutes.

After debate,

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House suspend the rules and agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MENENDEZ, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

$\P 2.5$ ORDER OF BUSINESS—SUSPENSION OF THE RULES

On motion of Mr. DE LUGO, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That it may be in order today for the Speaker to entertain a motion to suspend the rules under clause 1 of rule XXVII and pass the bill (H.R. 2144) the Guam Excess Lands Act.

¶2.6 GUAM LAND TRANSFER

Mr. DE LUGO, pursuant to the foregoing special order, moved to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 2144) the Guam Excess Land Act; as amended.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MENENDEZ, recognized Mr. DE LUGO and Mr. HANSEN, each for 20 minutes. After debate,

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House suspend the rules and pass said bill, as amended?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. VOLKMER, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said bill, as amended, was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and said bill, as amended, was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶2.7 UNFINISHED BUSINESS—APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. VOLKMER, pursuant to clause 5, rule I. announced the unfinished business to

be the question on agreeing to the Chair's approval of the Journal of Tuesday, January 25, 1994.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. VOLKMER, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. VENTO objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared $\begin{cases} Yeas \dots 247 \\ Nays \dots 140 \end{cases}$

[Roll No. 2] YEAS—247

McMillan Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews (ME) Gejdenson Gephardt McNulty Meehan Geren Andrews (NJ) Meek Applegate Gibbons Menendez Bacchus (FL) Gillmor Mfume Baesler Michel Gilman Ballenger Glickman Miller (CA) Barca Gonzalez Mineta Gordon Barcia Minge Barlow Green Mink Barrett (WI) Greenwood Moakley Bateman Gutierrez Mollohan Becerra Hall (OH) Montgomery Hall (TX) Beilenson Moran Hamburg Nadler Berman Bevill Hamilton Natcher Bilbray Harman Neal (MA) Bishop Hayes Hilliard Neal (NC) Blackwell Oberstar Hinchey Bonior Obey Borski Hoagland Olver Hochbrueckner Boucher Orton Owens Brown (FL) Houghton Pallone Parker Brown (OH) Hover Hughes Pastor Cantwell Hutchinson Payne (VA) Cardin Inglis Penny Inslee Peterson (FL) Chapman Jefferson Peterson (MN) Johnson (SD) Pickett Clayton Johnson, E.B. Pickle Clyburn Johnston Pombo Coleman Kanjorski Pomeroy Collins (MI) Kaptur Posharď Price (NC) Combest Kasich Condit Kennedy Rahall Kildee Kleczka Conyers Rangel Cooper Ravenel Coppersmith Klein Reed Costello Klink Reynolds Kopetski Richardson Cramer Kreidler Roemer Crapo Darden LaFalce Rose Rostenkowski Deal Lambert DeFazio Lancaster Rowland Roybal-Allard DeLauro Lantos LaRocco Rush Derrick Deutsch Laughlin Sabo Dicks Levin Sanders Lewis (GA) Dingell Sangmeister Lipinski Santorum Dooley Livingston Sarpalius Durbin Lloyd Sawyer Edwards (TX) Long Schenk Emerson Lowey Schumer Engel Maloney Scott English (AZ) Mann Serrano Eshoo Manton Sharp Shepherd Evans Manzullo Margolies-Sisisky Farr Mezvinsky Fazio Skaggs Fields (LA) Markey Skelton Filner Martinez Slaughter Smith (IA) Fingerhut Matsui Smith (NJ) Mazzoli Foglietta Foley McCloskey Spence McCurdy Spratt

Studds Thurman Washington Stupak Torricelli Waters Swett Traficant Watt Swift Tucker Wilson Unsoeld Wise Synar Tanner Valentine Woolsey Tauzin Velázquez Wyden Tejeda Vento Wynn Visclosky Thompson Yates Young (FL) Volkmer Thornton

NAYS-140

Goodlatte Allard Oxley Goodling Packard Archer Bachus (AL) Paxon Goss Baker (CA) Grams Petri Barrett (NE) Grandy Porter Gunderson Bartlett Portman Hancock Quillen Bentley Hansen Quinn Hastert Ramstad Bereuter Hefley Bilirakis Regula Ridge Bliley Herger Hobson Blute Roberts Boehlert Hoekstra Rogers Rohrabacher Boehner Hoke Bonilla Horn Roth Bunning Huffington Roukema Burton Hunter Rovce Hyde Saxton Buyer Callahan Inhofe Schaefer Calvert Istook Schiff Schroeder Camp Jacobs Canady Johnson (CT) Sensenbrenner Castle Johnson, Sam Shaw Clinger Kim Shays Coble King Shuster Collins (GA) Klug Skeen Knollenberg Smith (MI) Cox Crane Kolbe Smith (TX) Cunningham Lazio Snowe DeLay Diaz-Balart Solomon Leach Levy Lewis (CA) Stearns Dickey Stump Doolittle Lewis (FL) Sundquist Dreier Linder Talent Duncan Machtley Taylor (MS) McCrery Taylor (NC) Dunn Ehlers McHugh Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Everett McKeon Ewing Meyers Upton Vucanovich Fawell Mica Miller (FL) Fields (TX) Walker Fowler Molinari Walsh Franks (CT) Moorhead Weldon Franks (NJ) Morella Wolf Zeliff Gekas Murphy Gilchrest Mveers Zimmer Nussle Gingrich

NOT VOTING-46

Andrews (TX) Gallegly Payne (NJ) Pelosi Armey Gallo Baker (LA) Hastings Pryce (OH) Brewster Hefner Ros-Lehtinen Browder Hutto Slattery Brown (CA) Johnson (GA) Smith (OR) Bryant Kennelly Thomas (CA) Torres Clay Kingston Collins (IL) Towns Lehman Coyne Waxman Danner Lightfoot Wheat de la Garza McCandless Whitten McCollum Dellums Williams Dornan McDade Young (AK) Edwards (CA) Murtha Flake Ortiz

So the Journal was approved.

¶2.9 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— BULGARIA IMMIGRATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. VIS-CLOSKY, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

On June 3, 1993, I determined and reported to the Congress that Bulgaria is in full compliance with the freedom of emigration criteria of sections 402 and 409 of the Trade Act of 1974. This determination allowed for the continuation of most-favored nation (MFN) status and certain U.S. Government financial

McDermott

McHale

McInnis

McKinney

Stark

Stokes

Stenholm

Strickland

Ford (MI)

Ford (TN)

Frank (MA)