1994

¶4.6

Abercrombie

Andrews (ME)

Andrews (NJ)

Bacchus (FL)

Barlow Barrett (WI)

Barcia

Becerra

Berman

Bevill

Bonior

Boucher Brooks

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL) Brown (OH)

Bryant

Byrne Cantwell

Cardin

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Conyers

Cooper

Costello

DeFazio

DeL auro

Dellums

Derrick

Deutsch

Dicks

Dixon

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Farr

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Frost

Furse

Fields (LA)

Foglietta

Ford (MI)

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Gibbons

Allard

Archer

Armev

Baesler

Applegate

Bachus (AL)

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Barca

Bartlett

Bateman

Bentley

Bereuter

Bilbray Bilirakis

Bishop

Bliley

Blute

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Browder

Bunning

Burton

Buyer

Duncan

Dunn

Ehlers

Barton

English

Dingell

Durbin

Edwards (CA)

Coyne

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Coppersmith

Carr

Clay

Beilenson

Blackwell Boehlert

Ackerman

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

McDade

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Meyers

Michel

Minge

Moran

Myers Nussle

Ortiz

Orton

Oxley

Parker

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Pomerov

Portman

Poshard

Quillen

Ramstad

Ravenel

Regula

Roberts

Roemer

Rogers

Roth

Roukema

Rowland

Santorum

Hastings

Lewis (FL)

Lehman

Rovce

Quinn

Packard

Murphy

Molinari

Moorhead

Mica

McMillan

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,

Washington, DC, February 1, 1994.

Hon. THOMAS S. FOLEY, Speaker, House of Representatives, Washington,

DCDEAR MR. SPEAKER: This is to formally notify you pursuant to Rule L (50) of the Rules of the House that the Office Supply Service has been served with a subpoena issued by the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

After consultation with the General Counsel to the House, I have determined that compliance with the subpoena is conistent with the privileges and precedents of the House.

Sincerely,

RANDALL B. MEDLOCK, Acting Director.

4.10 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— FEDERAL RAILROAD SAFETY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STRICKLAND, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

I transmit herewith the 1992 annual report on the Administration of the Federal Railroad Safety Act of 1970, pursuant to section 211 of the Act (45 U.S.C. 440(a)).

WILLIAM J. CLINTON.

THE WHITE HOUSE, February 2, 1994.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

¶4.11 RECESS—7:07 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STRICKLAND, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 7 o'clock and 7 minutes p.m., subject to the call of the Chair.

¶4.12 AFTER RECESS—8:55 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Ms. SLAUGHTER, called the House to order.

4.13 PROVIDING FOR THE

CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 3759

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103-416) the resolution (H. Res. 336) providing for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 3759) making emergency supplemental appropriations for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1994, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

4.14 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted-

To Mr. LEHMAN, for today and February 3; and

To Mrs. MEEK, after 4:40 p.m. today until 2 p.m. on February 3.

4.15 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. MOAKLEY, pursuant to the special order heretofore agreed to, at $\hat{8}$ o'clock and 56 minutes p.m., the House adjourned until 10 o'clock a.m., on Thursday, February 3, 1994

When there appeared [Roll No. 4] YEAS-191 Gilman Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamburg Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Hoagland Hochbrueckner Holden Hover Hughes Inslee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klein Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lantos Laughlin Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Long Lowey Maloney Mann Manton Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCloskev McDermott McHale McKinnev McNulty Meehan Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Morella Murtha Nadler NAYS-227 Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Clinger Coble Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cox Cramer Crane Crapo Cunningham Danner Darden Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Dooley Doolittle Dreier

Yeas Nays 227 Natcher Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Oberstar Obev Olver Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Pickle Porter Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Richardson Rose Rostenkowski Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Sawyer Schenk Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Shays Skaggs Slaughter Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Swett Swift Synar Thompson Thornton Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Washington Waters Watt Waxman Wheat Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates Emerson Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Fingerhut Fish Fowler Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Gallegly Gallo Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gingrich Glickman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Grams Grandy Greenwood Gunderson Hall (TX) Edwards (TX) Hamilton Hancock

Hansen Harman Hastert Haves Hefley Herger Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Houghton Huffington Hunter Hutchinson Hutto Hyde Inglis Inhofe Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Kasich Kim King Kingston Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe Kyl Lancaster LaRocco Lazio Leach Levy Lewis (CA) Lightfoot Linder Livingston Lloyd Machtley Manzullo McCandless McCollum McCrerv McCurdy Andrews (TX)

191

Schaefer Schiff Sensenbrenner Sharp Shaw Shuster Miller (FL) Sisisky Skeen Skelton Slattery Smith (IA) Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Snowe Solomon Spence Stearns Stenholm Strickland Payne (VA) Stump Stupak Sundquist Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas (CA) Pryce (OH) Thomas (WY) Thurman Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Walker Walsh Weldon Whitten Rohrabacher Williams Ros-Lehtinen Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Ridge

Shepherd

Smith (OR)

Sarpalius

Saxton

NOT VOTING-15 Ford (TN) Revnolds

Wilson Meek Dornan So the resolution was not agreed to. A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was not agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

4.7 HOUR OF MEETING

Borski

Chapman

de la Garza

On motion of Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 10 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, February 3, 1994

4.8 COMMITTEE ELECTION—MINORITY

Mr. MICHEL, by unanimous consent, submitted the following privileged resolution (H. Res. 335):

Resolved, That Representative Vernon J. Ehlers of Michigan be and is hereby elected to the following standing committees of the House of Representatives: The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, and the Committee on Public Works and Transportation.

When said resolution was considered and agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

4.9 SUBPOENA

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DURBIN, laid before the House a communication, which was read as follows:

29