When there	appeared {	Yeas Nays
$\P4.6$	[Roll No. 4]	•
	YEAS-191	
Abercrombie	Gilman	Natcher
Ackerman	Gonzalez	Neal (MA)
Andrews (ME)	Gordon	Neal (NC)
Andrews (NJ)	Green	Oberstar
Bacchus (FL)	Gutierrez	Obey
Barcia	Hall (OH)	Olver
Barlow	Hamburg	Owens
Barrett (WI) Becerra	Hefner Hilliard	Pallone Pastor
Beilenson	Hinchey	Payne (NJ)
Berman	Hoagland	Pelosi
Bevill	Hochbrueckner	Pickle
Blackwell	Holden	Porter
Boehlert	Hoyer	Price (NC)
Bonior	Hughes	Rahall
Boucher	Inslee	Rangel
Brooks	Jacobs	Reed
Brown (CA)	Jefferson Johnson, E. B.	Richardson Rose
Brown (FL) Brown (OH)	Johnston	Rostenkowsk
Bryant	Kanjorski	Roybal-Allar
Byrne	Kaptur	Rush
Cantwell	Kennedy	Sabo
Cardin	Kennelly	Sanders
Carr	Kildee	Sangmeister
Clay	Kleczka	Sawyer
Clayton	Klein	Schenk Schroeder
Clement Clyburn	Kopetski Kreidler	Schumer
Coleman	LaFalce	Scott
Collins (IL)	Lambert	Serrano
Collins (MI)	Lantos	Shays
Conyers	Laughlin	Skaggs
Cooper	Levin	Slaughter
Coppersmith	Lewis (GA)	Spratt Stark
Costello Coyne	Lipinski Long	Stokes
DeFazio	Lowey	Studds
DeLauro	Maloney	Swett
Dellums	Mann	Swift
Derrick	Manton	Synar
Deutsch	Margolies-	Thompson
Dicks	Mezvinsky Markey	Thornton Torres
Dingell Dixon	Martinez	Torricelli
Durbin	Matsui	Towns
Edwards (CA)	Mazzoli	Traficant
Engel	McCloskey	Tucker
English	McDermott	Unsoeld
Eshoo	McHale	Valentine
Evans	McKinney	Velazquez
Farr Fazio	McNulty Meehan	Vento Visclosky
Fields (LA)	Menendez	Volkmer
Filner	Mfume	Washington
Flake	Miller (CA)	Waters
Foglietta	Mineta	Watt
Ford (MI)	Mink	Waxman
Frank (MA)	Moakley	Wheat
Frost	Mollohan	Wise
Furse Gejdenson	Montgomery Morella	Woolsey Wyden
Gephardt	Murtha	Wynn
Gibbons	Nadler	Yates
	NAYS—227	
	~ 11 1	_

191

Callahan Allard Emerson Applegate Calvert Everett Camp Canady Ewing Fawell Archer Armev Bachus (AL) Castle Fields (TX) Baesler Clinger Fingerhut Baker (CA) Fish Coble Baker (LA) Collins (GA) Fowler Franks (CT) Ballenger Combest Condit Franks (NJ) Barca Barrett (NE) Cox Gallegly Bartlett. Cramer Gallo Barton Crane Gekas Bateman Crapo Geren Gilchrest Cunningham Bentley Bereuter Danner Gillmor Bilbray Bilirakis Gingrich Glickman Darden Deal Bishop DeLay Goodlatte Bliley Diaz-Balart Dickey Goodling Blute Goss Boehner Dooley Grams Doolittle Dreier Bonilla Grandy Greenwood Brewster Gunderson Browder Duncan Bunning Dunn Hall (TX) Edwards (TX) Burton Hamilton Buyer Ehlers

Sarpalius Saxton Hansen McDade McHugh Harman Hastert McInnis Schaefer Haves McKeon Schiff Hefley McMillan Sensenbrenner Sharp Herger Meyers Shaw Hobson Mica Michel Hoekstra Shuster Miller (FL) Hoke Sisisky Skeen Horn Minge Houghton Molinari Skelton Slattery Smith (IA) Huffington Moorhead Hunter Moran Smith (MI) Hutchinson Murphy Hutto Myers Smith (NJ) Hyde Nussle Smith (TX) Inglis Ortiz Inhofe Orton Solomon Istook Oxley Spence Johnson (CT) Packard Stearns Johnson (GA) Parker Stenholm Johnson (SD) Paxon Strickland Johnson, Sam Payne (VA) Stump Stupak Sundquist Kasich Penny Kim Peterson (FL) King Peterson (MN) Talent Kingston Klink Petri Tanner Pickett Tauzin Klug Knollenberg Pombo Taylor (MS) Pomerov Taylor (NC) Kolbe Portman Tejeda Thomas (CA) Kyl Poshard Pryce (OH) Thomas (WY) Lancaster LaRocco Quillen Thurman Lazio Quinn Torkildsen Leach Ramstad Upton Levy Ravenel Vucanovich Lewis (CA) Regula Walker Roberts Walsh Lightfoot Linder Roemer Weldon Livingston Rogers Whitten Rohrabacher Lloyd Williams Machtley Ros-Lehtinen Wolf Young (AK) Manzullo Roth McCandless Roukema Young (FL) Zeliff McCollum Rowland McCrery Royce Zimmer Santorum McCurdy

NOT VOTING-15

Andrews (TX)	Ford (TN)	Reynolds
Borski	Hastings	Ridge
Chapman	Lehman	Shepherd
de la Garza	Lewis (FL)	Smith (OR)
Dornan	Meek	Wilson

So the resolution was not agreed to. A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was not agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶4.7 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 10 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, February 3,

¶4.8 COMMITTEE ELECTION—MINORITY

Mr. MICHEL, by unanimous consent, submitted the following privileged resolution (H. Res. 335):

Resolved, That Representative Vernon J. Ehlers of Michigan be and is hereby elected to the following standing committees of the House of Representatives: The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, and the Committee on Public Works and Transpor-

When said resolution was considered and agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶4.9 SUBPOENA

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DURBIN, laid before the House a communication, which was read as follows:

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, Washington, DC, February 1, 1994. Hon. THOMAS S. FOLEY,

Speaker, House of Representatives, Washington,

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: This is to formally notify you pursuant to Rule L (50) of the Řules of the House that the Office Supply Service has been served with a subpoena issued by the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

After consultation with the General Counsel to the House, I have determined that compliance with the subpoena is conistent with the privileges and precedents of the House.

Sincerely,

RANDALL B. MEDLOCK, Acting Director.

¶4.10 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— FEDERAL RAILROAD SAFETY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STRICKLAND, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

I transmit herewith the 1992 annual report on the Administration of the Federal Railroad Safety Act of 1970, pursuant to section 211 of the Act (45 U.S.C. 440(a)).

WILLIAM J. CLINTON.

THE WHITE HOUSE, February 2, 1994.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

¶4.11 RECESS—7:07 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STRICKLAND, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 7 o'clock and 7 minutes p.m., subject to the call of the Chair.

¶4.12 AFTER RECESS—8:55 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Ms. SLAUGHTER, called the House to order.

$\P4.13$ Providing for the CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 3759

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103-416) the resolution (H. Res. 336) providing for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 3759) making emergency supplemental appropriations for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1994, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶4.14 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted-

To Mr. LEHMAN, for today and February 3; and

To Mrs. MEEK, after 4:40 p.m. today until 2 p.m. on February 3.

¶4.15 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. MOAKLEY, pursuant to the special order heretofore agreed to, at 8 o'clock and 56 minutes p.m., the House adjourned until 10 o'clock a.m., on Thursday, February 3, 1994