## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Smith (OR)

Wilson Wise	Woolsey Wyden	Wynn Yates	
NOT VOTING-20			
Andrews (TX) Bacchus (FL) Bilirakis Clayton Coleman de la Garza Ewing	Fields (TX) Hastert Hastings Hilliard Laughlin Markey Matsui	McMillan Michel Neal (NC) Ridge Slattery Washington	

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. CARDIN, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. GEKAS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. (

It was decided in the	Yeas	356
affirmative	Nays	56

AYES-356

¶9.18 Ackerman Deal Allard DeFazio Andrews (ME) DeLauro Andrews (NJ) Dellums Applegate Bachus (AL) Derrick Deutsch Baesler Diaz-Balart Baker (LA) Dicks Dingell Barca Barcia Dixon Barlow Doolev Barrett (NE) Dunn Barrett (WI) Durbin Edwards (CA) Bateman Edwards (TX) Becerra Beilenson Ehlers Bentley Engel Bereuter English Berman Bevill Eshoo Evans Bilbray Everett Bishop Farr Fawell Blackwell Blute Fazio Fields (LA) Boehlert Boehner Filner Bonior Fingerhut Borski Fish Boucher Flake Foglietta Ford (MI) Brewster Brooks Ford (TN) Browder Brown (CA) Fowler Frank (MA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Bryant Burton Frost Byrne Furse Calvert Gallegly Camp Gallo Canady Gejdenson Cantwell Gephardt Cardin Geren Gibbons Carr Castle Gilchrest Gillmor Chapman Clay Gilman Clement Glickman Clinger Gonzalez Goodlatte Clyburn Collins (GA) Gordon Collins (IL) Goss Collins (MI) Combest Grandy Green Condit Greenwood Conyers Gunderson Gutierrez Cooper Coppersmith Hall (OH) Costello Hall (TX) Coyne Hamburg Hamilton Cramer Cunningham Harman Danner Haves Darden Hefner

[Roll No. 23] Herger Hinchey Hoagland Hobson Hochbrueckner Hoekstra Holden Horn Hover Huffington Hughes Hunter Hutto Hyde Inhofe Inslee Istook Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kaniorski Kaptur Kasich Kennedv Kennelly Kildee Kingston Kleczka Klein Klink Klug Knollenberg Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Lazio Leach Lehman Levin Levv Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Lipinski Livingston Lloyd Long Lowey Machtley Maloney Mann Manton Manzullo

Margolies

Mezvinsky

Markey Petri Martinez Pickett Matsui Pickle Mazzoli Pomeroy McCandless Porter McCloskey Portman McCollum Poshard Price (NC) McCrery McCurdy McDade Pryce (OH) Quinn McDermott Rahall McHale Ramstad McHugh Rangel McKeon Ravenel McKinnev Reed Meehan Regula Reynolds Meek Menendez Richardson Roberts Meyers Mfume Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Mica Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Mineta Rose Minge Mink Roukema Moakley Rowland Molinari Mollohan Royce Montgomerv Rush Moorhead Sabo Moran Sanders Morella Sangmeister Murphy Santorum Murtha Sarpalius Mvers Sawver Nadler Saxton Natcher Schenk Neal (MA) Schiff Schroeder Oberstar Obey Schumer Olver Scott Serrano Ortiz Orton Sharp Owens Shaw Packard Shays Shepherd Pallone Parker Sisisky Pastor Skaggs Payne (NJ) Skeen Payne (VA) Skelton Peľosi Slaughter Smith (IA) Penny Peterson (FL) Smith (MI) Peterson (MN) Smith (NJ) Abercrombie Dreier Archer Duncan Armey Ballenger Emerson Gekas Gingrich Bartlett Barton Goodling Bliley Grams Bonilla Hancock Bunning Hansen Hefley Buver Hoke Houghton Hutchinson Caĺlahan Coble Cox Crane Inglis Crapo DeLay Dickey Doolittle Dornan Andrews (TX) Bacchus (FL) Baker (CA) Bilirakis Clayton Coleman

Smith (TX) Snowe Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stokes Strickland Studds Stupak Swett Swift Synar Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thomas (WY) Thompson Thornton Ros-Lehtinen Thurman Torkildsen Rostenkowski Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Roybal-Allard Tucker Unsoeld Upton Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Walsh Waters Watt Waxman Weldon Wheat Whitten Williams Wilson Wise Wolf Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer NOES-56 Linder McInnis McNulty Nussle Oxley Paxon Pombo Quillen Schaefer Sensenbrenner Shuster Solomon Stump Sundquist Johnson, Sam Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Walker Young (AK) Michel Neal (NC)

Kim King Kolbe Kvl NOT VOTING-21 Ewing Fields (TX) Hastert Ridge Hastings Roth Hilliard Slatterv Laughlin Talent McMillan Washington

So the bill was passed.

de la Garza

On motion of Mr. BROOKS, pursuant to House Resolution 352, the bill of the Senate (S. 24) to reauthorize the independent counsel law for an additional 5 years, and for other purposes; was taken from the Speaker's table.

When said bill was considered and read twice.

Mr. BROOKS submitted the following amendment, which was agreed to:

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert the provisions of H.R. 811, as passed by the House.

The bill, as amended, was ordered to be read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill, as amended, was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

On motion of Mr. BROOKS, pursuant to House Resolution 352, it was,

Resolved, That the House insist upon its amendment to the foregoing bill and request a conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. CARDIN, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of Messrs. BROOKS, BRYANT, GLICKMAN, FRANK, FISH, HYDE, and GEKAS, as managers on the part of the House at said conference.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

By unanimous consent, H.R. 811, a similar House bill, was laid on the table.

**9.19** PROVIDING FOR THE

CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 3345

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 357):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pursuant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 3345) to amend title 5, United States Code, to eliminate certain restrictions on employee training; to provide temporary authority to agencies relating to voluntary separation incentive payments; and for other purposes. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. All points of order against consideration of the bill are waived. General debate shall be confined to the bill and the amendments made in order by this resolution and shall not exceed one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule. It shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute printed in part 1 of the report of the Committee on Rules accompanying this resolution. The amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered as read. No amendment to the amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be in order except the amendment printed in part 2 of the report of the Committee on Rules, which may be offered only by a Member designated in the report, shall be considered as read, shall be debatable for the time specified in the report equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an opponent, shall not be subject to amendment, and shall not be subject to a demand for division of the question in the House or in the Committee of the Whole. All points of order against the amendments printed in the report of the Committee on Rules are waived. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. Any Member may demand a separate vote in the House on any