held on Monday, February 21, 1994, the following Members on the part of the House: Ms. BYRNE and Mr. BATEMAN.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

¶9.6 RECESS—10:55 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WISE, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 10 o'clock and 55 minutes a.m., until 11

¶9.7 AFTER RECESS—11 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GEJDENSON, called the House to

¶9.8 INDEPENDENT COUNSEL REAUTHORIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GEJDENSON, pursuant to House Resolution 352 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 811) to reauthorize the independent counsel law for an additional 5 years, and for other purposes.

Mr. TORRICELLI, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent there-

$\P 9.9$ RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. RAMSTAD:

Page 10, insert the following after line 20 and redesignate the succeeding section accordingly:

SEC. 6. GROUNDS FOR REMOVAL.

Section 596(a)(1) of title 28, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following: "Failure of the independent counsel to comply with the established policies of the Department of Justice as required by section 594(f) or to comply with section 594(j) may be grounds for removing that independent counsel from office for good cause under this subsection.'

It was decided in the Yeas 187 negative Nays 227

9.10[Roll No. 18] AYES-187

Clinger Allard Gallegly Gallo Andrews (NJ) Coble Collins (GA) Archer Gekas Gilchrest Armev Combest Bachus (AL) Cooper Gillmor Baker (CA) Cox Gilman Baker (LA) Crane Gingrich Ballenger Barrett (NE) Goodlatte Crapo Cunningham Goodling Bartlett DeFazio Goss DeLay Diaz-Balart Barton Grams Bateman Grandy Bentley Dickey Greenwood Bereuter Bilbray Dooley Doolittle Gunderson Hancock Bliley Dreier Hansen Hayes Hefley Blute Duncan Boehlert Dunn Boehner Ehlers Herger Bonilla Emerson Hobson Hoekstra Bunning Everett Hoke Burton Fawell Buyer Callahan Fields (TX) Horn Houghton Fish Huffington Fowler Calvert Camp Franks (CT) Hunter Canady Franks (NJ) Hutchinson Castle

Inglis Inhofe Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Johnston Kasich Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe Lazio Leach Levy Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL Lightfoot Linder Livingston Machtley Manzullo Margolies-Mezvinsky McCandless McCollum McCrery McCurdy McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McKeon

Baesler

Barca

Barcia

Barlow

Becerra

Berman

Bishop

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brooks

Bryant

Byrne

Cardin

Clayton

Clement Clyburn

Condit

Conyers

Coyne

Cramer

Danner

Darden

Dellums

Derrick

Deutsch

Dingell

Dicks

Dixon

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

(AS)

Farr

Fazio

English

Deal

Carr

Clav

Browder

McMillan Saxton Meyers Schaefer Mica Schiff Michel Sensenbrenner Miller (FL) Shaw Molinari Shays Shuster Moorhead Morella Sisisky Skeen Smith (MI) Myers Nussle Orton Smith (NJ) Oxley Smith (TX) Packard Snowe Parker Solomon Paxon Spence Penny Stearns Peterson (FL) Stump Sundquist Peterson (MN) Talent Petri Taylor (MS) Pombo Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Porter Portman Pryce (OH) Thomas (WY) Quillen Torkildsen Quinn Traficant Upton Řamstad Walker Ravenel Regula Walsh Rogers Rohrabacher Weldon Wolf Ros-Lehtinen Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Roth Roukema Royce Zimmer Santorum

NOES-227

Abercrombie Fields (LA) McCloskey Ackerman Filner Andrews (ME) Fingerhut Applegate Bacchus (FL) Flake Foglietta Ford (MI) Frank (MA) Furse Gejdenson Barrett (WI) Gephardt Geren Beilenson Gibbons Glickman Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Brewster Hamburg Hamilton Brown (CA) Harman Hefner Hilliard Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Hinchey Hoagland Cantwell Hochbrueckner Holden Hoyer Hughes Hutto Inslee Jacobs Collins (IL) Jefferson Johnson (GA) Collins (MI) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Coppersmith Costello Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kleczka de Lugo (VI) Klein Klink DeLauro Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lantos LaRocco Lehman Levin Edwards (CA) Lewis (GA) Edwards (TX) Lipinski Lloyd Long Lowey Maloney Faleomavaega Mann

McDermott McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Murphy Murtha Nadler Natcher Neal (MA) Norton (DC) Oberstar Obev Olver Ortiz Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Pickett Pickle Pomerov Poshard Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Romero-Barcelo (PR) Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Sarpalius Sawyer Schenk Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sharp Shepherd

Skelton Tejeda Thompson Waters Watt Slaughter Smith (IA) Thornton Waxman Spratt Thurman Wheat Torres Whitten Stark Torricelli Stenholm Williams Wilson Stokes Towns Strickland Underwood (GU) Wise Studds Unsoeld Woolsey Valentine Wyden Stupak Velazquez Swett Wynn Synar Vento Yates Visclosky Tanner Tauzin Volkmer NOT VOTING-24 Andrews (TX) Ford (TN) Ridge

Roberts Bilirakis Hastert Blackwell Hastings Slattery Smith (OR) Chapman Lancaster Laughlin Coleman de la Garza Manton Tucker Vucanovich Martinez Dornan Neal (NC) Washington

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶9.11 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following substitute amendment submitted by Mr. BRYANT to the amendment submitted by Mr. **GEKAS:**

Substitute amendment submitted by Mr. BRYANT:

Page 10, strike lines 6 through 14 and insert the following:

(2) MEMBERS OF CONGRESS.—Whenever the Attorney General determines that it would be in the public interest, the Attorney General may conduct a preliminary investiga-tion in accordance with section 592 if the Attorney General has received information sufficient to constitute grounds to investigate whether a Member of Congress may have violated any Federal criminal law other than a violation classified as a Class B or C misdemeanor or an infraction.'

Amendment submitted by GEKAS:

Page 9, strike line 18 and all that follows through line 14 on page 10 and insert the following:

SEC. 4. APPLICATION TO MEMBERS OF CON-GRESS.

Section 591(b) of title 28, United States Code, is amended-

(1) by striking "and" at the end of para-

(2) by striking the period at the end of paragraph (8) and inserting "; and"; and

(3) by adding at the end the following:

(9) any Senator or Representative in, or Delegate or Resident Commissioner to, the Congress, or any person who has served as a Senator, a Representative, Delegate, or Resident Commissioner within the 2-year period before the receipt of the information under subsection (a) with respect to conduct that occurred while such person was a Senator, a Representative, Delegate, or Resident Commissioner.''

9.12[Roll No. 19] AYES-230

Beilenson Abercrombie Brooks Ackerman Berman Browder Bevill Bilbray Andrews (ME) Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Applegate Baesler Bishop Brown (OH) Barca Blackwell Bryant Barcia Bonior Byrne Barlow Borski Cantwell Barrett (WI) Boucher Cardin Becerra Brewster Carr

Skaggs

Markey

Matsui

Mazzoli