Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Peľosi Peterson (FL) Pickett Pickle Pomeroy Poshard Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Revnolds Richardson Roemer Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders

¶16.12

Sarpalius Thurman Sawyer Schenk Torres Torricelli Schroeder Schumer Towns Traficant Tucker Unsoeld Serrano Sharp Valentine Shepherd Velazquez Sisisky Vento Skaggs Visclosky Skelton Volkmer Slattery Slaughter Waters Watt Smith (IA) Waxman Spratt Wheat Whitten Stokes Strickland Williams Studds Wilson Wise Stupak Woolsey Wvden Tanner Wynn Yates Tauzin Taylor (MS)

Thompson

Thornton

Sangmeister

Scott

Stark

Swift

Synar

Teieda

Goss

Grams

Grandy

Hancock

Hansen

Hastert

Heflev

Herger

Hoke

Horn

Hunter

Hyde

Inglis

Inhofe

Istook

Kasich

Kim

King

Kolbe

Lazio

Leach

Levv

Linder

Mazzoli

McCrery

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Meyers

Michel

Morella

Mica

Kvl

Hobson

NAYS-184

Allard Archer Armey Bachus (AL) Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bateman Bentley Bereuter Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bunning Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Clinger Coble Collins (GA) Combest Cooper Cox Crane Crapo Cunningham Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Emerson Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Fish Fowler Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Gallegly Gekas Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Goodlatte

Goodling Myers Nussle Oxley Packard Greenwood Parker Gunderson Paxon Penny Hall (TX) Peterson (MN) Hamilton Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce (OH) Quillen Hoekstra Quinn Ramstad Ravenel Houghton Regula Huffington Ridge Roberts Hutchinson Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Johnson (CT) Royce Santorum Johnson, Sam Saxton Schaefer Sensenbrenner Kingston Shaw Klug Knollenberg Shavs Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Lewis (CA) Snowe Lewis (FL) Solomon Lightfoot Spence Stearns Livingston Machtley Stenholm Stump Sundquist Manzullo Margolies Swett Mezvinsky Talent Taylor (NC) McCandless Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) McCollum Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Walker McMillan Walsh Weldon Wolf Young (AK) Miller (FL) Young (FL) Molinari Moorhead Zeliff Zimmer

NOT VOTING-8

Andrews (TX) Gallo	Schiff
Collins (IL) Hastings de la Garza McDade	

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

16.12 MESSAGES FROM THE PRESIDENT

Sundry messages in writing from the President of the United States were communicated to the House by Mr. McCathran, one of his secretaries.

16.13 PRIVILEGES OF THE HOUSE

Mr. ISTOOK rose to a question of the privileges of the House and, pursuant to the order of the House of February 23, 1994, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 238); as amended:

Whereas, allegations reported in public and made in official court documents that personnel of the House Post Office provided illegal cash to certain members in three ways: (1) cash instead of stamps for official vouchers, (2) cash for postage stamps which, had earlier been purchased with official vouchers, and (3) cash for campaign checks;

Whereas, these allegations directly affect the rights of the House collectively, its safety, dignity, and the integrity of its proceedings, and the rights, reputation, and conduct of its Members:

Whereas, Article, I, Section V of the Constitution gives each House of the Congress responsibility over disorderly behavior of its Members:

Whereas, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct has jurisdiction over the conduct and behavior of current House Members, Officers, and employees, including investigatory authority, and is the appropriate body of this House to conduct any inquiry: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct is instructed to investigate immediately all possible violations that are related, but not limited to, the documents received by the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct from the Committee on House Administration, and the allegations stated above.

Further resolved, The Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall coordinate its investigation with the related efforts of the Department of Justice so as not to jeopardize any ongoing criminal investigation.

Further resolved, That in pursuing its investigations, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall determine Members, Officers or employees who have violated House rules, practices and procedures in connection with the House Post Office.

Further resolved, The Committee shall inform the Department of Justine regarding the procedures and aspects the Committee intends to investigate. If the Department of Justice then responds that a specific matter the Committee intends to investigate is material to, or subject of an official investigation, the Committee may defer that inquiry pending the conclusion of the investigation by the Department of Justice. *Further resolved*, That the Committee on

Standards of Official Conduct shall file a public status report within 60 days of the adoption of the resolution and periodically thereafter

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

Mr. GEPHARDT moved to lay the resolution on the table.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House lay the resolution on the table?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HOYER, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. ISTOOK objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

¶16.14

Ackerman

Applegate

Baesler

Barca

Barcia

Barlow

Becerra

Berman

Bevill

Bilbray

Bishop

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brooks

Browder

Bryant

Cardin

Carr

Clay

Cantwell

Chapman

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Condit

Convers

Costello

Coyne

Cramer

Danner

Darden

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Derrick

Deutsch

Dingell

Dixon

Dooley

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Farr

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Frost

Furse

Geren

Gibbons

Glickman

Gonzalez

Allard

Archer

Armey

Fields (LA)

Fingerhut

Foglietta

Ford (MI)

Ford (TN)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

English

Dicks

Brewster

Blackwell

Beilenson

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 238 When there appeared Nays 186

[Roll No. 37]

YEAS-238 Abercrombie Gordon Owens Green Pallone Andrews (ME) Gutierrez Pastor Payne (NJ) Andrews (NJ) Hall (OH) Hamburg Payne (VA) Bacchus (FL) Harman Peľosi Hayes Hefner Peterson (FL) Pickett Hilliard Pickle Hinchey Pomeroy Barrett (WI) Hoagland Poshard Hochbrueckner Price (NC) Holden Rahall Houghton Rangel Hoyer Reed Reynolds Richardson Hughes Inslee Jefferson Johnson (SD) Roemer Rose Johnson, E. B. Rostenkowski Johnston Rowland Roybal-Allard Kaniorski Kaptur Rush Sabo Sanders Kennedy Brown (CA) Kennelly Brown (FL) Kildee Sangmeister King Kleczka Brown (OH) Sarpalius Sawyer Klein Schenk Klink Schroeder Kopetski Schumer Kreidler Scott LaFalce Serrano Sharp Shepherd Lambert Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Sisisky Skaggs Laughlin Collins (MI) Skelton Lehman Slattery Slaughter Levin Coppersmith Lewis (GA) Smith (IA) Lipinski Spratt Lloyd Stark Stokes Long Strickland Lowey Maloney Studds Mann Stupak Manton Swift Markey Synar Martinez Tanner Matsui Tauzin McCloskey Taylor (MS) McCurdy Tejeda McDermott Thompson McHale Thornton McKinney Thurman Edwards (CA) McNulty Torres Edwards (TX) Meehan Torricelli Meek Towns Menendez Traficant Mfume Miller (CA) Tucker Unsoeld Valentine Mineta Minge Velazquez Mink Vento Moakley Visclosky Mollohan Volkmer Montgomerv Waters Moran Watt Murphy Waxman Murtha Wheat Frank (MA) Nadler Whitten Natcher Williams Neal (MA) Wilson Neal (NC) Wise Oberstar Woolsey Obev Wvden Olver Wynn Ortiz Orton

> NAYS-186 Bachus (AL) Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett