JOURNAL OF THE

Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Pickett Pickle Pomeroy Poshard Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Roemer Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Sabo

Sanders

Sangmeister Thompson Thornton Sarpalius Thurman Sawyer Schenk Torres Torricelli Schroeder Schumer Towns Traficant Scott Tucker Unsoeld Serrano Sharp Valentine Shepherd Velazquez Sisisky Vento Skaggs Visclosky Skelton Volkmer Slattery Slaughter Waters Watt Smith (IA) Waxman Spratt Wheat Stark Whitten Stokes Strickland Williams Studds Wilson Wise Stupak Woolsey Swift Synar Wyden Tanner Wynn Yates Tauzin Taylor (MS)

NAYS-184

Tejeda

Allard Goodling Myers Archer Goss Nussle Armey Oxley Packard Grams Bachus (AL) Grandy Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Greenwood Parker Gunderson Paxon Penny Ballenger Hall (TX) Barrett (NE) Hamilton Peterson (MN) Bartlett. Hancock Petri Barton Hansen Pombo Bateman Hastert Porter Bentley Hefley Portman Pryce (OH) Bereuter Herger Bilirakis Hobson Quillen Bliley Hoekstra Quinn Hoke Ramstad Blute Boehlert Horn Ravenel Boehner Houghton Regula Bonilla Huffington Ridge Bunning Hunter Roberts Hutchinson Burton Rogers Hyde Rohrabacher Buyer Callahan Ros-Lehtinen Inglis Calvert Inhofe Roth Camp Istook Roukema Johnson (CT) Royce Santorum Canady Castle Johnson, Sam Clinger Kasich Saxton Coble Kim Schaefer Collins (GA) Sensenbrenner King Combest Kingston Shaw Klug Knollenberg Cooper Shavs Cox Shuster Crane Kolbe Skeen Smith (MI) Crapo KvlCunningham Lazio Smith (NJ) Deal Leach Smith (OR) DeLay. Smith (TX) Levv Diaz-Balart Lewis (CA) Snowe Dickey Doolittle Lewis (FL) Solomon Lightfoot Spence Dornan Linder Stearns Livingston Machtley Dreier Stenholm Stump Duncan Sundquist Dunn Manzullo **Ehlers** Margolies-Swett Mezvinsky Talent Emerson Taylor (NC) Everett Mazzoli Ewing Fawell McCandless Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) McCollum Fields (TX) Torkildsen McCrery Fish McHugh Upton Vucanovich Fowler McInnis McKeon McMillan Franks (CT) Walker Franks (NJ) Walsh Gallegly Meyers Weldon Gekas Mica Wolf Young (AK) Gilchrest Michel

NOT VOTING-8

Young (FL)

Zeliff

Zimmer

Andrews (TX) Gallo Schiff
Collins (IL) Hastings Washington
de la Garza McDade

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Morella

Moorhead

Gillmor

Gilman

Gingrich

Goodlatte

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶16.12 MESSAGES FROM THE PRESIDENT

Sundry messages in writing from the President of the United States were communicated to the House by Mr. McCathran, one of his secretaries.

$\P 16.13$ Privileges of the house

Mr. ISTOOK rose to a question of the privileges of the House and, pursuant to the order of the House of February 23, 1994, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 238); as amended:

Whereas, allegations reported in public and made in official court documents that personnel of the House Post Office provided illegal cash to certain members in three ways: (1) cash instead of stamps for official vouchers, (2) cash for postage stamps which, had earlier been purchased with official vouchers, and (3) cash for campaign checks;

Whereas, these allegations directly affect the rights of the House collectively, its safety, dignity, and the integrity of its proceedings, and the rights, reputation, and conduct of its Members:

Whereas, Article, I, Section V of the Constitution gives each House of the Congress responsibility over disorderly behavior of its

Whereas, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct has jurisdiction over the conduct and behavior of current House Members, Officers, and employees, including investigatory authority, and is the appropriate body of this House to conduct any inquiry: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct is instructed to investigate immediately all possible violations that are related, but not limited to, the documents received by the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct from the Committee on House Administration, and the allegations stated above.

Further resolved, The Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall coordinate its investigation with the related efforts of the Department of Justice so as not to jeopardize any ongoing criminal investigation.

Further resolved, That in pursuing its investigations, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall determine Members, Officers or employees who have violated House rules, practices and procedures in connection with the House Post Office.

Further resolved, The Committee shall inform the Department of Justine regarding the procedures and aspects the Committee intends to investigate. If the Department of Justice then responds that a specific matter the Committee intends to investigate is material to, or subject of an official investigation, the Committee may defer that inquiry pending the conclusion of the investigation

by the Department of Justice. Further resolved, That the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall file a public status report within 60 days of the adoption of the resolution and periodically thereafter.

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

Mr. GEPHARDT moved to lay the resolution on the table.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House lay the resolution on the table?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HOYER, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. ISTOOK objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared $\begin{cases} Yeas \dots 238 \\ Nays \dots 186 \end{cases}$

¶16.14 [Roll No. 37] YEAS—238

Abercrombie Gordon Owens Ackerman Green Pallone Andrews (ME) Gutierrez Pastor Payne (NJ) Andrews (NJ) Hall (OH) Applegate Hamburg Pavne (VA) Bacchus (FL) Harman Pelosi Baesler Hayes Hefner Peterson (FL) Pickett Barca Barcia Hilliard Pickle Hinchey Barlow Pomerov Barrett (WI) Hoagland Poshard Hochbrueckner Becerra Price (NC) Beilenson Holden Rahall Berman Houghton Rangel Bevill Hoyer Reed Reynolds Richardson Bilbray Hughes Inslee Bishop Blackwell Jefferson Johnson (SD) Roemer Bonior Rose Borski Johnson, E. B. Rostenkowski Boucher Johnston Rowland Roybal-Allard Brewster Kaniorski Brooks Kaptur Rush Sabo Sanders Browder Kennedy Brown (CA) Kennelly Brown (FL) Kildee Sangmeister King Kleczka Brown (OH) Sarpalius Bryant Sawyer Cantwell Klein Schenk Cardin Klink Schroeder Kopetski Schumer Carr Chapman Kreidler Scott Clay LaFalce Serrano Clayton Sharp Lambert Clement Lancaster Shepherd Clyburn Lantos Sisisky LaRocco Skaggs Coleman Collins (MI) Laughlin Skelton Condit Lehman Slattery Slaughter Convers Levin Coppersmith Lewis (GA) Smith (IA) Costello Lipinski Spratt Lloyd Coyne Stark Cramer Stokes Long Strickland Danner Lowey Darden Maloney Studds DeFazio Mann Stupak DeLauro Manton Swift Dellums Markey Synar Derrick Martinez Tanner Deutsch Matsui Tauzin McCloskey Taylor (MS) Dingell McCurdy Tejeda Dixon McDermott Thompson McHale Thornton Durbin McKinney Thurman Edwards (CA) McNulty Torres Edwards (TX) Meehan Torricelli Engel Meek Towns English Menendez Traficant Mfume Miller (CA) Tucker Unsoeld Evans Valentine Mineta Farr Velazquez Minge Fazio Fields (LA) Mink Vento Filner Moakley Visclosky Fingerhut Mollohan Volkmer Montgomery Flake Waters Foglietta Moran Watt Ford (MI) Murphy Waxman Ford (TN) Murtha Wheat Frank (MA) Nadler Whitten Frost Natcher Williams Neal (MA) Wilson Furse Neal (NC) Gejdenson Wise Gephardt Oberstar Woolsey Geren Obev Wyden

NAYS—186

Wynn

Allard Bachus (AL) Ballenger Archer Baker (CA) Barrett (NE) Armey Baker (LA) Bartlett

Olver

Ortiz

Orton

Gibbons

Glickman

Gonzalez